My Reviews (52)

No Hassle Lemon Ice Cream

This is a lemon ice cream you don't need an ice cream maker for. You can just freeze it in a loaf pan in the freezer.
Reviews (52)


20 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: loki782
yummy
 
25 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
The recipe as written is vague...it should specify measurements of lemon juice and zest, especially for the novice cook--the amounts of lemon juice and zest could drastically affect the final result. Also, I believe the ratio of cream to milk should be increased to include more cream, less milk, to ensure creaminess and avoid graininess or "iciness." This has potential as a starting point but needs adjustments to rate any more than two stars. I made the necessary modifications and came up with a 5-star lemon ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: clanderle
I have a similar recipe that I make. I set the timer and stir every 30 minutes until it is set (a couple of hours). It's not totally solid and easy to serve. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Ita
I did use an ice cream maker - just to speed things up. It was the perfect blend of tart and sweet. Such an easy recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2008
Reviewed by: GodivaGirl
My family thought this ice cream had a nice texture and strong (not too strong) lemon taste. I did use a small lemon and a my microplane did zest my lemon in tiny bits so I didn't need the food processor step to mix the sugar and zest. Next time I will use only 1 half of the lemon juice in this recipe. I did take it out of the freezer and let sit at room temperature for about 10 minutes before scooping. Very nice color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: iLikePie
Really easy to make, and we all liked the lemon flavour - nice and strong! We thought it tasted like Lemon Delicious Pudding, but frozen! I think next time i'd add some orange or lime to mix the flavours, and also, i think with most icecreams if you take them out before they fully freeze and process them again (then refreeze) you don't get any ice crystals - this recipe had a few (but not heaps). Really nice and easy, a great first ice-cream making experience for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
20 Sep 2010
bernie17 said:
Used different ingredients. Try omitting the lemon and adding vanilla extract (I added approx 1 teaspoon) for vanilla ice-cream. I also added small chunks of vanilla fudge. The basic recipe could probably be made into a variety of flavours - experiment!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
12 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: bernie17
Delicious!! Makes you wonder why the shop-bought ice-cream has to have so much rubbish in it! This recipe is so much easier than usual ice-cream recipes that involve whisking or stirring after a few hours.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
07 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: TwoSweetPickles
LOVED this! Based on other reviews, I cut the sugar to a little over 1/2 a cup and that was fine. Lovely, lovely lemon flavor...I wanted to eat the zest and sugar by itself...the scent was amazing! Everyone loved this...it set up and froze nicely. We'll definitely make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Asli Ocak
there isnt any other recipe like this one which gives so rich lemon flavor..my favourite all the time
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes