My Reviews (38)

Spicy Baked Feta

This traditional Greek way of preparing feta makes a great entree or finger food dish. The salty/sour taste of the feta sets off the heat of the chilli flakes - so don't be afraid to load them on.
Reviews (38)


27 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: wsf
I love baked feta, and was really looking forward to trying this recipe out, and I was definitely not disappointed. The balance of salt from the cheese, spice from the chilies, and the herbal aroma of the oregano hit the spot. But... I gave it three stars because although I enjoyed it, the flavour was a bit plain. I added some crushed garlic, and a bit of rosemary, and felt the recipe was better rounded for the changes. But since I am judging on the recipe as it, it was just a bit of a single note, so only three stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: jennyp
This recipe is simple, yet AMAZING. I don't know what that other guy was talking about, there are no additional flavors needed. Maybe he had some cheap/bad feta or an unrefined palette. Anyway, I just can't say enough about how wonderful this recipe is. When I ate it with my husband and our three year old child, we all could not stop discussing how wonderful it was with our friends for the next week. Here's a little tip: follow the recipe exactly, add nothing. It is PERFECT.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Diana Moutsopoulos
This is a traditional recipe that you'll find in tavernas and mezedopoleio (meze restaurants) all over Greece. The simple flavors and preparation should be savored! I wouldn't add anything else to this recipe, as the contrast between salty/sour and spicy, as well as the creamy texture of the baked feta, are quite enough to make a great little dish! Note that feta doesn't 'melt' the way most cheeses do, so you will find that the slice of feta will hold its shape. But it should be soft and bubbly throughout. You'll want to serve right away, because the feta will harden as it cools. And most importantly, please use FULL FAT feta, and preferably Greek feta from sheep and goat milk. Cow milk feta and low fat feta will not produce similar results! Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Valentina
We've made this delicious feta recipe numerous times and more recently on the BBQ (on aluminum foil with the sides crimped up to catch drips). We discovered that we needed lots of chili pepper flakes when using the "stale" stuff from the Bulk Barn. Just the other day with friends, I crushed up some dried chilis I stored in a jar from last year's garden, and boy oh boy, what an amazing flavour! We BBQ'd 2 large 1/4 inch slabs and ate them with garlic buttered toasted pitas and everyone including kids was ranting and raving over the flavour. So simple and so good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: LawStudent
Excellent idea. I drizzled with garlic infused olive oil and added cherry tomatoes and juice from 1/2 a lemon. Huge hit at my cocktail party last night. Be sure to enjoy when it's hot, as the feta hardens back up as it cools.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: lh
very,very good.. perfect for sharing! But serve as soon as you take it out of the oven..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2011
Reviewed by: susiekew
This was so delicious and ridiculaously easy to make. I used less crushed red pepper because some of my family does not like spicy, but it was a wonderful, not burning heat, so it was fine. The only downside is that it is not nearly as good once it cools down, so eat it while it's hot! Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Joanna
I was so glad to see this recipe! This was one of my favorite things to order when I lived in Greece. Greeks tend to shy away from spicy food, so this was a real treat. I've never seen it without a red sauce before, which is how I prepared it. Delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: AUDLEEDOO
This is delicious! It's also ridiculously easy, but unique, so it's impressive.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: HB
Delicious, simple, quick and inexpensive = a perfect party appetizer. I served it with plain sliced french bread but will do crackers next time for texture. Cover the cheese LIBERALLY with herbs and red pepper flakes - the feta perfectly balances them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes