My Reviews (8)

Classic Matzo Balls

An easy matzo balls recipes for Hanukkah. Serve in a soup or in a bowl of milk. Either way its great. This is so easy any one could make them. Enjoy.
Reviews (8)


19 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Chef4Six
I changed this recipe a bit - My family likes small light and fluffy matzo balls. I quadrupled the recipe. I used selter instead of water - as the carbonated water helps to fluff up the matzo balls. I used only a tsp. of olive oil instead of the margarine and added some salt, pepper and garlic powder to the mixture. I refrigerated the mixture for about 1/2 hour and rolled them into small balls with wet hands to help keep their shape. I let them boil in slated water with the pot cover on for about 25 minutes - no peaking - or the matzo balls will flip and fall to the bottom of the pot. I did not cook the matzo balls in the chicken soup - as I did not want the soup to become murky from the matzo balls as they cooked. I also froze them in a single layer on cookie sheet and then placed them in a zip lock bag - this way I can take out as many matzo balls as I wanted and they wouldn't be stuck together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: mjo
This receipe will give you "sinkers"- if you want floaters -3 eggs no oil, very little water, 1/2 C matzo meal. Refrigerate 20-30min. Drop in rapidly boiling water/chicken soup cover cook for 20 minutes. The larger the pot the better. - If yor soup has the veggies removed make it in the soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
There's nothing better on a cold (Spring) night than a bowl of matzo ball soup. My kids consider these a special treat and they were so easy to prepare. The only change I made was subbing canola oil for the margarine. As the directions suggest, don't pack them tightly like you would a meatball. You want the matzo balls to come out light and fluffy. Thanks Janine!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: fennel
Thanks for the tip about packing them. That explains a lot. I use oil instead of butter. PS; I boiled them in chicken broth and added stock to the m.b mix for more flavor. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: WoundedEgo
This recipe was way better than the disappointing one I tried before from another site. And I so appreciate all of the suggestions for variation. I added some fresh parsley and chicken broth and cooked them right in the soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: jac
the dough was very sticky, did not form easily into balls in the short amount of time it took for the water to boil. the result was essentially dumplings, which were somewhat dense.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: UMMADAM
My balls turned out sinkers. I'll try whipped eggs and seltzer next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Jonnyrepp
An excellent recipe I boiled them in chicken stock to make them even more delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes