My Reviews (303)

Stir Fried Thai Basil Chicken

This is delicious and easy to make-chicken with garlic, chilli and basil cooked in a coconut milk based sauce. Make it as spicy as you like or keep it mild.
Reviews (303)


03 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: deb.amy
This is a confused dish, bears no resemblance to any hot basil stir fry recipe that I've made before or eaten at good Thai restaurants. No chilli heat. Coconut milk, mushrooms or rice wine vinegar have no place in this recipe and result in a thick gravy! More Chinese then Thai. A good basil stir fry has vigor and can be a challenge to eat, sweet, salty and with a hot thin slightly oily base rich in chilli oil and the aroma of sacred basil and topping of bean shoots. This is gruel.
 
19 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: ShirleyHewitt
. Very nice, quite easy, able to use the abundance of basil from the garden
 
18 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Jojosmb
Easy and very tasty, I only added more garlic and less chicken. Worth giving it a try
 
06 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Niloufer
Some tips to make it more authentic. Use fresh, spicy chilies. Use galangal/Thai ginger, not regular ginger. Use holy basil/Thai basil not the Italian basil. Use regular oil, not olive oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Nandini
Lovely! Tastes very authentic. Use holy basil if available for the killer taste. I also tried adding more red pepper flakes and then realized I should just use chilli powder instead to bring more colour and bring up the spice level...and yes it did the trick! Added broccoli and red peppers to make this a definite make again dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This was ok, but unfortunately I couldn't taste of wonderful flavors of basil or cocunut milk very much... just salt. I'm sure it was due to the fish sauce (check out the sodium content on the bottle!) so if I were to make this again I would just omit it. Any flavor it may impart is not worth that huge amount of salt! I did use low-sodium soy sauce and added a little extra coconut milk. I'm sure this would be really good if it weren't so darn salty. I even reduced the amount of fish sauce to one TBS! I used a red onion, which added nice color. Served with brown jasmine rice and steamed green beans.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Vladadeska
My boyfriend adored this recipe and I thought it was pretty good. I used a whole can of coconut milk because I hate having open cans in my fridge. I think next time I will cook the chicken in the sauce. I usually do that but decided to follow the recipe this time. I believe that cooking the chicken in the sauce will make it more flavorful and tender (I've found it usually does). Plus, you'd be cutting down on calories and fat that way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Luke Marie
I loved this dish. Others commented on it not being authentic . . . who cares! Authenticity is not the issue, taste is, and this dish tastes great. Now, that being said, I had to be creative to get this dish to turn out here in Bolivia. In place of fish sauce, I used 1 T anchovy paste and 1 T oyster sauce. I added broccoli, didn't have green onions, used coconut paste (no coconut milk), and tweaked the measurements of the other ingredients to compensate for the sweetness of the coconut paste. My wife was not a fan of the spice (I thought it was perfect) but my 2 year old couldn't get enough! I will definitely make this again. Maybe I'll pull some aside for my wife without spice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: LynnInHK
Definitely NOT the authentic Thai basil chicken, because the real one is not soupy like this and much much more spicy. However, I still give it a five star, and just think of it as chicken basil curry. The amount of basil seems a lot, but I still think the dish can use more basil flavor. As soon as my basils grow out, I will make this again, but either use more fresh basil, or add some dry basil too. And if you like your Thai food spicy, make sure to add extra extra red pepper flakes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: SAMMARTI
I didn't bother with the coconut milk. This is a good stir-fry recipe. Don't be put off by the seemingly large amount of basil--when it cooks, it loses pungency. I also added a large handful of chopped cilantro. Use lots of ginger--peel the skin off with a vegetable peeler.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes