My Reviews (20)

Tomato and Sultana Chutney

I think this is best made with fresh tomatoes from the garden. It's a delicious combination of sweet and fiery.
Reviews (20)


01 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: nan22kiwis
I used cherry tomatoes and didn't do Step 1, the first boil and didn't peel them. I started from step two, puting most of the tomatoes in the blender before cooking, saving about a quarter of the smallest to throw in whole. This chutney has great balance and worked well with cherry tomatoes.
 
15 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Maxwell
I made this recipe customized to 8 servings just to test it out. Kinda goofed and used too much fresh ginger but the results were still excellent! The curry paste I used was 'Bhuna', a tomato based paste. The whole family enjoyed it and I'm about to make up a new batch. Good stuff!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Cookin' Mama
I make as many jars as possible of Spicy Tomato Chutney every Summer from our homegrown tomatoes. We enjoy it on sandwiches all year long! Simply a fantastic recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: jbullock345
Very nice. Didn't use the curry paste out of choice, but it works fine without. The ginger and sultanas came through really nicely. I didn't skin my toms (home grown cherry toms - loads of them) but it is worth taking the time. Also, didn't puree mine, chopped everything roughly as I like it chunky. Great recipe. Fantastic with a good cheddar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
20 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Michael Kambas
ever since we sampled the "Indian Pizza" at Trader Joe's my family got hooked on them. There's a great recipe for "Indian Chapati Bread" on this site too. Now I can't wait to top flat breads with this chutney and sprinkle w/goat cheese!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: ollybeak
I made this exactly to the recipe apart from using 1 rounded tablespoon of curry powder as paste was not available. It is beautiful, one of the best I've made! It would be helpful to give an aproximate amount to expect (I made about 1800 grams or 4 x450 gram jam jars). Also how long will it keep as I would love to make more of this, no mention of it improving (if it is possible to improve) the longer you keep it as with most other chutney recipes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: SUZY
EXCELLENT CHUTNEY. I HAVE MADE NUMEROUS DIFFERENT CHUTNEYS AND THIS WAS THE ONE THAT GOT THE BEST REVIEWS FROM MY FRIENDS AND FAMILY.VERY TASTY WITH JUST A LITTLE KICK GOES WELL WITH EVERYTHING FROM CHEESES TO COLD MEAT PLATTERS AND MY OTHER HALF LOVES IT WITH HIS DINNER!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: LAURA
Love it ! Thanks for posting. For the curry paste, the store had green or red. I got the red and was a little worried it might be to hot, so I put in a little less. But I think I could have put the whole amount if not a little more in. I wasn't sure how long to simmer for, so it simmered for a half hour then I boiled it quickly for about 30sec and then put in the fridge. It was just right. Served it on Trader Joes Tandoori Garlic Naan bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: ocd.123
Lovely but maybe a tad too sweet. Next time I will use a bit less sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 May 2009
Reviewed by: RoseRover
This makes a really nice chutney. I made half a recipe and it still made a huge amount (1 litre). I only had Thai curry paste, so I substituted 1 tsp of garam masala. No mixed spice either, so used the spices recommended in the editor's note. It went very well with the veggie samosas we ate. Everyone enjoyed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes