My Reviews (40)

Cranberry Apple Kugel

Cranberry and apple matzo kugel makes a lovely dessert for Passover Seder. By using Granny Smith apples and dried cranberries, you get a tart yet sweet flavour.
Reviews (40)


01 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: A.M.
Tastey & easy. Instructions didn't say to grease the pan, so it stuck. Next time I'll know better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: FBA
This has definite possibilities but I'm going to tweak it a bit. I substituted Splenda for the sugar & added raisons instead of the dried cranberries (so there'd be no extra sugar). Next time, I'm going to spray the pan with PAM, increase the applesauce (I used unsweetened) to 1/2 cup, increase the Splenda added to the mixture to 1/3 cup, & decrease the amount of Splenda & cinnamon used in the topping. I also will bake it for at least an hour as the apples weren't soft after 45 minutes. I'm also going to use whole wheat matzah.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: GEFFRIC
Made it last night for the sedar. It was wonderful. I did substitute raisins for the dried cranberries. I doubled the reicpe so I'd have some left over for tonight. Great
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Sara Jane
Great tasting side dish or dessert! It was simple to make and bake! I loved the fact that it was a low fat - low calorie dish that didn't taste low in fat and calories! Good addition to any dinner meal! I used Gala apples in mine and adjusted the recipe to yield 12 servings and baked it in a oval baking dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: JASMINEAHERNE
I tried this recipe for our Passover Seder and it was delicious! Everyone at the table loved it. It was easy to make and very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Stacie
Very good, especially for a Passover recipe. Used 2 very large apples and raisins instead of cranberries.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: doreneskidsfavs
Two years in a row, I've been the star of both seders and chavurah (friends) gatherings with this simple but utterly delicious recipe!! It is a teen favorite too, and can cross over to dessert as well as entree. Very healthy too. One of the most successful matzo recipes ever!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: KEEPER
Made this Tues. It went over so well that I had to make another one right there and then- everyone was willing to wait for another piece- this was a crowd of people who watch their weight so I substituted the baking form of splenda and sugar free applesauce also spread a thin layer of applesauce on top and left out the cranberries I also put 2 tablespoons of potato flour to make it a more firm texture i made it to serve 15 and did not have enough!!!Even the kids loved it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Mary Jean
Excellent recipe! I usually don't enjoy kugel, but I found this recipe to be quite tasty. I used only 3 matzo crackers, and crushed the heck out of them. The dish was moist, sweet and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Susan Schwartzman Lyon
This is a wonderful kugel. I have been making it for years. I always have an interfaith seder and even the non-jewish participants liked it and asked for the recipe. I highly recomend this dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes