My Reviews (116)

Date Loaf with Sugar Sauce

This recipe takes the tried and true date loaf and jazzes it up with a hot brown sugar sauce. Delicious!
Reviews (116)


29 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: Misha1956
Simply amazing cake - so moist- subbed half cup of water for brandy - wow just like my Xmas pudding flavour with that mild hint of brandy - as I had hard dates I just soaked in the brandy for an hour before cooking on stove - such an easy recipe too ๐Ÿ˜€
 
17 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Susan Elane Berry
This a delicious, MOIST date nut cake. I never thought I would find one! The only change I made was I substituted 1/2 C. of the water for 1/2 C. brandy. This made it awesome! Yummmmmmmy! Thank you for submitting this recipe. Susan in NC
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: LinseyBee
Wow! Soooo good! Will now be a repeat treat for me. I subbed 1/2 the flour with whole wheat flour and cut out 1/4 cup of the sugar. I think this recipe is a bit mislabeled as a "cake" because it's the texture of a sweet bread. Also, watch the bake time; mine was a bit dry and I only baked it for 40 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: ITSMERON
this was so good , i substituted 1/2 cup of brown sugar for some of white sugar for a darker color.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Tanaquil
I was cleaning out the freezer and found 1/2 a box of dates and 1/2 pkg. of pecans. Got on here and searched for a date nut loaf and this one was the recipe I decided on. I was going to take this to the school tomorrow and put it in the teacher's lounge but I just had to get into it. I was so suprised---it is amazing! I have eaten 1/2 the loaf already. I can't really taste the dates, its more of a nut loaf, but maybe that is because I subbed pecans for walnuts. But still---amazing! Very sweet and moist! Had with several afternoon cups of tea (: Thanks for the post!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Wicksy
Delicious flavour...ate it straight out of the oven; crispy on the outside and moist on the inside, a bit crumbly but not complaining. I didn't bother with the sauce, sounds delicious but don't need the extra calories! Would make a lovely dessert with it tho. I used a bit less sugar, some whole wheat flour and added a few extra dates and nuts; also used a medium sized sauce pan and after mixing the date mixture, just added the flour etc to the saucepan...voila saved washing that extra bowl. Thanks for the yummy recipe, will make many times I'm sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
01 Jun 2011
kmaillefert said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I have a 2.5yr old and dont like him to eat a lot of sugar, so I cut down the sugar to 50g and added 60g of sultana's (cooked along with the dates) and it tasted great
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
03 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: Karen Smith
This cake was a hit at our christmas party. I added little nutmeg and ground cloves to the batter and it really turned out well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: choppie
This is my first attempt at baking since I became disabled 6 years ago. I was excited to see this recipe was simple, Oh, forgot, I had to use hazel nuts since that is all I had. It turned out quite good in spite of me. Thank you for giving me my confidence back when it comes to baking! I even posted a pic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: ADORRABL
I broiled stlitely the brown sugar sauce to make it just a little crispy, and it was the best date loaf I ever had.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes