My Reviews (125)

Portuguese Custard Tarts

Super simple custard tarts, very easy to make using frozen puff pastry. Don't be fooled by the simplicity of the recipe, these are addictive!
Reviews (125)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MbSjFulcher said:
Used different ingredients. mmmmm. THese were soo good. I was doubtful because the recipe looked so easy, but they were gone in 10 minutes. I didn't have a vanilla pod so I used 2 tsp vanilla essence, which was fine. I used the best ever pie crust from this site, and this worked really well. I was tempted to find a pie crust recipe which had sugar in it, but this one is perfect (and soo easy)
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: GRANNYLOOHOO
Easy to make and yummy too. The sweetness blended very well with the puff pastry.
 
06 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Lynne C.
The traditional way to line the cups is to take the sheet of puff pastry and roll it into a loaf, then cut slices and place the in the cups, pressing down so that the dough flattens and there is a bit of a rim of thicker pastry at the top. That way they come out with very crispy and flaky shells.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: B Spradley
I grew up eating these custards in Macau (a Portuguese colony) so i came in as a tough critique. This was my first time however actually make this, for some reason i though it would be really hard, but i was amazed how easy it was. My whole family loved them, they were gone in several hours. My only suggestion is to use the paper muffin liners. I sprayed half my pan and used the muffin liners for the other half and the greased ones stuck pretty bad, but the paper was great. I also used trader Joes puff pastry and just cut squares for ease... They looked a little different than the authentic ones, but the taste is excellent. I will definitely make again. Oh.. I also used a half tsp of vanilla instead of the vanilla bean.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: IDALINA
Excellent recipe! I used mini muffin cups, the filling was enough for 30, and I used 1 and a half packages of puff pastry. Everyone wanted the recipe. The smaller "pasteis" were just perfect for a sweet table.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: beloddy
mmmmm. THese were soo good. I was doubtful because the recipe looked so easy, but they were gone in 10 minutes. I didn't have a vanilla pod so I used 2 tsp vanilla essence, which was fine. I used the best ever pie crust from this site, and this worked really well. I was tempted to find a pie crust recipe which had sugar in it, but this one is perfect (and soo easy)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Nana Sidek
Easy to make and yummy too. The sweetness blended very well with the puff pastry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: 2WANNA
I had these in Europe and was dying to make them at home. The custard is very delicious and very easy to prepare. The puff pastry was a bit tricky and time-consuming to work with in the muffin cups. I think I will attempt to use another type of pastry that has a bit more of a delicate and flakier texture like of the one's I experienced in Europe. Nonetheless, these custard tarts were yummy and I will make them again, just gotta find that perfect pastry to compliment the custard. Obrigado!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2007
Reviewed by: Christine-CanadianCook
This is just like the ones my grandmother would get that were imported on special holidays; I gave her one, and my mom, and and aunt and they loved them! I actually topped them with fresh raspberries and the flavours whent together perfectly! My grandma told me to call her the next time I make them so we can do it together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Ana Melo Perry
These are just like the Pasteis I get from the bakery down the street.. They are so yummy and easy to make. I love Portuguese food being 100% Portuguese myself.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes