My Reviews (125)

Portuguese Custard Tarts

Super simple custard tarts, very easy to make using frozen puff pastry. Don't be fooled by the simplicity of the recipe, these are addictive!
Reviews (125)


02 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Lisa
Perfect recipe. The recipe tastes identical to those in Portugal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: blueplate
These are very easy to make, super delicious and they look gorgeous too - I only gave four stars as these were a bit on the sweet side for my taste. Next time I'll reduce the sugar by 1/3 cup. Looking forward to the remake :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: Julia Holland
Fast and easy recipe! I would add less sugar (like 1/2 of a cup)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: marcia.irving55
I'm crazy about these tarts.!!! So easy too. They are exactly like the ones in Portugal. I use puff pastry cut to fit the muffin tin, prick the dough two times. I reduce the sugar to 3/4 C and add vanilla extract. YUMMY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: Booksie B
These were quite good. The custard has such a lovely flavor and the crisp pastry is nice too. Thanks for sharing this!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: bperdue
Great, authentic Portuguese recipe! 10/10.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: janesplacemt
Love it. Filled the tart w/ apples and huckleberries!! YUMYUM
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: harlequin68
These were tasty. A little on the sweet side for me. The reason I gave them a 3 is because they taste nothing like authentic Portuguese custard tarts. The search goes on...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Aug 2016
Reviewed by: travelcook
I didn't have pastry dough, so I used pie crust instead, But the custard was extremely sweet. I love egg tarts because of the egg. Even though I used less sugar than the recipe called for, it was all that I tasted. I will not use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2016
OMG! I am definitely not a Baker, they look awful but the taste is incredible! I will make them again but take time with the puff pastry!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes