My Reviews (125)

Portuguese Custard Tarts

Super simple custard tarts, very easy to make using frozen puff pastry. Don't be fooled by the simplicity of the recipe, these are addictive!
Reviews (125)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LAUREN2712 said:
Something else. The traditional way to line the cups is to take the sheet of puff pastry and roll it into a loaf, then cut slices and place the in the cups, pressing down so that the dough flattens and there is a bit of a rim of thicker pastry at the top. That way they come out with very crispy and flaky shells.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
DEBIPKRJ said:
Something else. Excellent recipe! I used mini muffin cups, the filling was enough for 30, and I used 1 and a half packages of puff pastry. Everyone wanted the recipe. The smaller "pasteis" were just perfect for a sweet table.
 
07 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: r1chardj0n3s
This recipe is terrible! I balked at the 200g thinking it would be too much and it was! They're not so much custard tarts as sugar tarts. They might work with 1/3 or even less sugar...
 
01 May 2017
Reviewed by: Westausbel
An all time fav', loved by all the family. Quite sweet but you can control by adding less.
 
15 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: TraceyHall
I am not a great cook and this was easy and delicious. I only had 150g of castor sugar and vanilla extract but they were still a winnner!
 
13 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: KathrynClayton
This recipe is super yumm and was not to hard
 
18 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: amanda68
I baked these tarts tonight, absolutely delicious. Will be definitely making these again.
 
20 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: mammaknowsbest82
OMG - to die for Went within minutes and are going to be making them frequently YUM, YUM, YUM!!!
 
16 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Judy
I liked them although they are way too sweet. Will cut back the sugar next time.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
hinocho said:
Used different ingredients. This is just like the ones my grandmother would get that were imported on special holidays; I gave her one, and my mum, and and aunt and they loved them! I actually topped them with fresh raspberries and the flavours whent together perfectly! My grandma told me to call her the next time I make them so we can do it together.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes