My Reviews (44)

Honey Mustard Beef Stew

This beef stew is made special by a honey, lemon and mustard sauce. It's truly melt in the mouth and perfect for a dinner party.
Reviews (44)


22 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: brettwadelton
It's so tangy, you can't stop at one serve!
 
20 May 2010
Reviewed by: nicohami
Was a pleasantly different stew that was very tasty. Maybe a little sweet so next time I wont put as much honey in but the meat was lovely and tender.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
Comment:
15 Nov 2011
We have just tried this Recipe in a slow cooker and it xxxxx
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Julie1945
My family and I thought this recipe was delicious. I added a little garlic but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. To eliminate extra pans, I sauteed the meat and veggies in a dutch oven on the stove and then poured the sauce over and put it in the oven. After 2 hours, the meat was very tender. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: JUSTCYN
Very tasty. I was looking for a way to use up some stew beef I had in the freezer but didn't want to make that potatoes and carrots gravy type stew during the heat of summer. I followed the recipe almost to a tee except I didn't brown the meat and cooked it in the slow cooker, used sherry for half the water amount, used bottled lemon juice, and added the pineapple as other reviewers had suggested. I also added some cornstarch towards the end to thicken the sauce a bit. I will definetly make this again. But be warned these surprisingly small amounts of honey, lemon juice, mustard and ketchup do make for a subtle sweet and sour, oriental type sauce and it isn't at all what you expect for "stew". Next time I think I will dust the meat with flour or cornstarch. Yes, serve with rice, set the places with chopsticks and pass the soy sauce. Tell hubby it's "pepper steak" and forget the word "stew".
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: DawnH13
Absolutely yummy stew, I left out the celery and added some mushrooms, twas delicious, melt in the mouth beef! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: Ann
This has become a new favorite at our house. It is easy, and perfect for gloomy winter days. It's great served over steamed rice. I usually wait to add the green pepper until near the end of cooking, to prevent it from getting too soft.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: gapch1026
This is in the oven right now; based on the good aroma I'd say that this is going to taste like a "5". I plan to serve it tomorrow over brown rice. Update: I doubled the sauce ingredients and left the stew uncovered for about 20 mins - that was enough to thicken it to a very nice stew-y consistency. Definitely a keeper recipe for stew that's a little different than the usual.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: TRUDY
This is one excellent recipe. I browned the meat and then instead of baking it, I put it into my slow cooker, and put 2 T. of instant tapioca into the sauce which then thickened as it was slow cooking. I added the chopped green pepper about 1/2 before serving. This way the pepper was not mush. My husband loved this recipe, as did my elderly mother. I served it with rice, but think it would go good with Yuca. I did add 2 cloves of garlic, as I felt it was missing something. The sauce was excellent and enough. I think if you bake it, there may not be enough gravy. It's a Keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: THELXE
I loved the sweet and sour taste of this. I didn't have any lemon juice on hand, so I substituted it for pure malt vinegar. Next time I think I might add pieces of pineapple to this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes