My Reviews (71)

Homemade Irish Cream Liqueur

Try making your own Irish creme liqueur with this simple recipe - I think you will find it is better than commercial brands.
Reviews (71)


19 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: adamrigby
i made this drink and put into a used bailys bottle and other into used coke bottle, the plastic coke bottle taste grate, the glass bailys bottle has turned into foam like a chocolate mouse, anyone got any idea why ?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: DEBORAHARV614
The BEST recipe for Irish cream ~ I come from an Irish/Polish family and yes we own our very own Pub and this is far superior to any commercially made liqueur.I use only Jamesons Irish whiskey (of course)and I add 11 ounces of chocolate because there is no such thing as too much chocolate. It tastes best if let to rest for three weeks in the fridge before drinking ~ just shake it up once a week. FANTASTIC :~)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: MISI1818
This tastes a lot better than the store bought irish cream liquor. I will definately be making my own from now on! I warmed up some of the evaporated milk to dissolve the coffee granules before adding them to the rest of the liquor. I also added the condensed milk to the chocolate chips so that they wouldn't stick to the bottom of the pot as I was melting them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: Ellie
Great! Just what I was looking for...but I noticed that the author did not specify when to add the coffee granules. I added them to the melted chocolate and they did not dissolve properly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: HEIDI88
I combined this and another recipe on this site, melting 3 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, blending in 1/2 t instant coffee granules, a can of each the sweetened condensed milk and partly-skim evaporated milk, 1 t vanilla, 1/2 t almond extract, 1 1/4 c whipping cream, and 1 1/2 c Irish whiskey (Jameson's). Delicious right away - can't wait to try it after it ages!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Mr.G
10/12/2007 - This recipe is the best I have tried. I have googled Irish Cream and tried 6 different recipes and this one, by far is the ultimate. I added 1/2 tsp of almond extract and 1 tsp of mint extract. Omigosh! I will never by Bailey's or Carolan's again. I would recommend this to anyone. I did not use the double broiler, and I substituted chocolate syrup (1 tbsp) for the chocolate. Thank you for posting this! Cheers! --- Mr.G
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: LYNDATHEDORK
This was awesome! When i first melted the chocolate and added some of the wiskey, the chocolate looked like it was burnt because it was all dried out. Don't be discouraged, though because it 'rehydrates' again once you add the rest of the ingredients and whisk it to get all the clumps out. I also added the coffee granules to the whiskey before mixing it all together. Friends couldn't get enough of it, said it resembled an 'alcoholic chocolate milk'. Tastes even better when in the fridge for over a week.Great recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Jillian Imilkowski
Instead of using granulated coffe, I get 1 shot of espresso (more if doubling recipe) from the coffee shop around the corner and add it slowly to the melting chocolate to keep the chocolate creamy and smooth. A few dashed of mint make an excellent 'Chocolate-Mint Irish Cream' treat. I LOVE this recipe and make a double batch every year to bottle up in mini containers as gifts for family and co-workers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: GOLUBOY
Seems a long time to keep before you can drink it. All my friends enjoy it and can not keep enough in the fridge.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: joliver
just made this for the first time. Initial impression is good. Have yet to age and taste. Biggest comment is to make a runny ganache before adding the whiskey as liquor will cause the melted chocolate to thicken. Thus, take about 2/3 cup of the cream and bring it to a boil. Turn off, add the chocolate and let the chocolate melt. Once it has melted, add the rest of the ingredients, whiskey last (don't want to heat the alcohol out).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes