My Reviews (70)

Chocolate Brandy Fondue

Serve this chocolate fondue in a fondue pot with your favourite fruits for dipping such as strawberries, bananas and apple slices.
Reviews (70)


04 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: C.L. Johnson
I found this recipe to be a good base for "chocolate fondue with liqueur." I followed others advice- 6 Tbsp. heavy cream & 4 tbsp. of liqueur. I was surprised how easy it really was to do. I made one pot with cherry brandy, one with mint liqueur and one with Irish cream. Couldn’t taste the cinnamon at all so I don’t even know if it is necessary. All 3 fondues received rave reviews and the chocolate kept its consistency nicely within the pots over a low tea light. For dipping- mini cheesecakes, angel food cake squares, potato chips, pretzels, graham cracker sticks, strawberries, bananas, Granny Smith apples, pineapple & dried apricots.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: NPISCHEL
This is a very good fondue, but I do agree with the other reviews. You must at least double the amount of heavy cream, and add more liquor of your choice. We enjoyed this fondue and will make it again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: MEE-MEE
We burned the first two batches, and it seemed that we didn't have enough liquid. Then we added more creme and kahlua and it smoothed out perfectly, and tasted great. For people who are trying this for the first time, if it starts to clump add mas liquids pronto...otherwise pretty good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: agiambalvo
I made this for my husband last year as a Valentine's Day surprise (after a delicious dinner which was made entirely from recipes on allrecipes.com), and it was a smash hit! We don't use alcohol in our house, so insead of cherry brandy, I used the juice from the jar of maraschino cherries that I bought as one of the things to dip in the fondue. It was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Kate82
I made this for a party of fifty and it was super. I used Kahlua instead of brandy, but it was yummy and worked perfectly. I did add some cream, and kahlua as the evening wore on...delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: Lom
Very quick and simple to make, and quite tasty. I also had to add extra cream and liquor. I suspect a crockery pot and a low flame would be best for this fondue - I had to watch the metal pot like a hawk. We dipped pound cake, angel food cake and bananas - yum.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: MELN31
All I can say is Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!! This was great! I added coffee liqueur instead of the coffee, Baileys instead of Cherry brandy and a little more cream to help smooth it out. If you can't find milk chocolate chips(my grocery store was out)just buy a milk chocolate bar and chop it to make 2 cups. Angel food cake, strawberries and banana were our favourites for dipping!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: LYNNIEMILANO
I was looking for a chocolate fondue recipe for a kids sleepover party and this was just great. Easy to make, great flavor and all the kids had fun dipping. I halved the recipe and still had a cup left over - it's rich!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: JCORDEIRO
Served this at a couples' bridal shower and it went over great! It was delicious!! We used Kahlua instead of cheery brandy. I gave it a low easiness rating because it had to be watered down (with Kahlua and more cream) at intervals throughout the party. It also burns easily if the flame is not regularly attended to- although I am willing to blame that on my fondue pot.. Overall- it was fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: Rockin' Chickadee!
I used a little Bailey's Irish Cream rather than cherry brandy and it was scrumptious. The entire pot of fondue disappeared in no time at all.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes