My Reviews (5,775)

The Best Bread Machine Cinnamon Scrolls

The dough for these cinnamon scrolls is made in a bread machine before it is shaped into buns and baked in the oven.
Reviews (5775)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MICKYO said:
Something else. These are fantastic! It's a fairly quick and easy recipe as far as cinnamon buns go, and you definitely DON'T NEED A BREAD MACHINE to make them. Just use an 7 gram pack of dry active yeast and knead the dough with your hands and a rolling pin. Then heat the oven to 90 degrees C and then TURN IT OFF. COVER the dough with a moist towel over the bowl, and put in the oven for around 1 hour (the dough will almost double in size) then roll out and fill. Use dental floss to cut buns into 12 pieces (1 and 3/4 inch thick). Also, some reviews mentioned that there was too much brown sugar and cinnamon, but i would recommend sticking with what the recipe calls for...double the amount of icing though!! Also, you can use butter or margarine in the recipe, both are equally as good (i use both when i make them). When you bake them, line your tin with greaseproof paper that has been greased with butter or margarine, and remove them immediately after baking, or they will stick. Bake at 175 for 20 minutes and they will turn out perfect. This recipe rocks : )
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: JENJA
These are fantastic cinnamon buns but I have yet to see people suggest the key part to these! As soon as you take them out of the oven you need to flip the tin over which allows all of the yummy cinnamon drippings to recoat the buns. I have heard a lot of you state that the filling has simply run out of the rolls. This alleviates that and makes them to die for. Good luck!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ANNETTE JENSEN
These are really good. I experimented with my batch and found that after shaping the buns and placing them in the greased tin, they could rest, covered, in the fridge overnight. In the morning, simply place them into the preheated oven to bake--a very fast breakfast. The unbaked rolls also freeze well. The night before, simply put the frozen rolls in their tin into the fridge. In the morning, they're ready for the oven. Easy and great to have on a cold morning. I was a little concerned that they didn't look doubled before I baked them this way, but they rose perfectly in the oven. Sure beats having to get up 3 hours before breakfast!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
briony said:
Altered ingredient amounts. very good! We have already made this recipe twice and I just downloaded it three days ago! I have a few suggestions though...1 T. of cinnamon was plenty. Also, we did one batch in a glass dish and the other in a metal cake tin and the glass dish batch turned out better. Finally, we mixed the butter with the cinnamon and sugar and then spread it on in our first batch. They turned out great and it was easier to do it this way. The batch where we spread the butter on first and then sprinkled the sugar mixture over the top wasn't as good because the sauce ran out the bottom and crystalised on the bottom of the tin. Still good, but not as good. The icing was delicious! I licked every spoon and beater clean!
 
22 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: sunshinepoppy
This is such a great recipe! I don't put the icing on as it is too sweet for me but I use this as a basic sweet bread recipe for everything. Makes great finger buns as well!
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
MOMS2398 said:
Something else. Someone wanted to know how to make this without a bread machine, here is how. Dissolve the yeast in the warm milk in a large bowl. Mix in the sugar, butter, salt and eggs. Add flour and mix well. Knead the dough into a large ball, using your hands dusted lightly with flour. Put in a bowl, cover and let rise in a warm place about 1 hour, or until doubled in size. Then pick up with rolling out the dough. Hope this helped!
 
05 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: AdeleGillies
This recipe was just too easy for words. My bread machine will be doing "take 2" tomorrow. The result was fantastic! The silence in my kitchen was broken with deeply satisfied "yums" from my teenage boys, as they grabbed one after the other, after the other! I baked them in a circular cake tin, which made them appear like a beautiful flower. Looking forward to another batch.
 
21 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: Mummagourmet
Fabulous recipe. I reduced the sugar in both the buns and the filling, and added chopped and slightly stewed Granny Smith apple and chopped walnuts to the filling - absolutely fabulous, family couldn’t keep their hands off them! Will definitely make again
 
02 Apr 2018
Reviewed by: LindaMacAulay
After our trip to America we were craving these....the recipe was perfect. I added pecans to the filling and mixed it all together in the food processor before spreading over the dough. The only downside was the family ate it in minutes. I also made it and put it in the fridge overnight so I could bake it in the morning. It did not rise as much but still tasted divine.
 
31 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Bclc71
I used less filling ( about 2/3rd) and also used a simpler icing without cream cheese ( icing sugar, milk and butter). Great recipe. I cooked a tray immediately , have a tray ready in the fridge for tomorrow and froze some too ( I left in rolled up state) so hoping that defrosts ok !! Definitely will make again.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes