My Reviews (211)

Velvety Smooth Chocolate Ice Cream

This ice cream is so smooth it will remind you of frozen chocolate mousse. Use organic free range eggs as they will be raw.
Reviews (211)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
AMYSTER said:
Something else. This really is velvety and delicious--an excellent no cook custard-style ice cream. Be sure to beat your egg yolks for 1-2 minutes, until they are light and fluffy, before continuing with the recipe, which will help ensure the very best consistency of the ice cream. Knowing that using all double cream can result in a greasy mouth feel, I substituted half cream and half milk. To intensify the flavour I increased the cocoa by 2 tablespoons, added 1 tsp. vanilla and a pinch of salt. For the chocolate, I added small chunks of a good quality dark chocolate bar during the last minute or two of churning. Just perfect.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
quickcooker said:
Made it healthier. I was looking for a fast ice cream recipe that didn't need to be cooked and could be converted to sugar free. This was wonderful. I used splenda instead of sugar and left out the chocolate. Superb!!
 
14 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: SuzanneGreen
This is by far the easiest and best home made ice cream I have ever made. I have a super cheap ice cream churned and it came out beautifully! Looking forward to make adaptations to the recipe with different flavours.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Allie MacLean
This is the BEST. So very rich and creamy. You could use half milk, half cream and it would still be very rich.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Laurie
I made this last night, it was the first time I tried my new Ice Cream maker. My family loved it!!! Thank you!!
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: ALISHERRILL
LOVED IT! I am going to try 1/2 cream & 1/2 milk next time, just because. Turned out great!
 
05 May 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
This really is velvety and delicious--an excellent no cook custard-style ice cream. Be sure to beat your egg yolks for 1-2 minutes, until they are light and fluffy, before continuing with the recipe, which will help ensure the very best consistency of the ice cream. Knowing that using all heavy cream can result in a greasy mouth feel, I substituted half and half for 2/3 c. of the cream, tho' milk could just as easily have been used. To intensify the flavor I increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup, added 1 tsp. vanilla, and a pinch of salt. For the chocolate, I added small chunks of a good quality semi-sweet chocolate bar during the last minute or two of churning. Just perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: MYKIDSMOM5
The only reason I gave this four stars instead of five is because this is much more like chocolate mousse than ice cream. It is delicious and we added mini marshmallows and nuts. I also added more cocoa powder which I'm glad I did. O.k. I take back the four stars and gave it five because after leaving it overnight in the freezer, this was some of the best ice cream I've ever had! Soooooooooo good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: NIMITZ
This is the BEST. So very rich and creamy. You could use 1/2& 1/2 and it would still be very rich.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: ZAKIAH
all I can say is, WOW!! this recipe is so simple and the outcome is just as promised. I didn't have any ice cream maker but the ice cream turned out just fine. What I did was to whip the cream a little bit, then add the chocolate+sugar+egg mixture. Froze it in the fridge overnight and voila! Homemade chocolate ice cream. The taste is excellent and you'll never go wrong with this recipe. Thanks for sharing
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes