My Reviews (784)

Baked Penne

This recipe was originally for ziti but none of my friends knew what it is, so now I just call it penne which is more or less the same thing. The recipe uses three cheeses layered with pasta and vegetable sauce.
Reviews (784)


Comment:
25 May 2009
Ingerm said:
Made it healthier. I used low fat dairy products and it turned out fine. I think this would be nice with canned fish if you wanted some extra protien
 
25 May 2009
Reviewed by: Ingerm
This was great - easy and the family loved it. It was also good as leftovers for lunch
 
17 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: chlojaja
Not bad, didn't have enough ricotta so added some creme fraiche, still tasty
 
24 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: pnl
This was very easy to make, and delicious. Not particularly healthy, but not too bad. We had it for left overs for three more nights.
 
27 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: NRAGNO
This recipe is nearly identical to my italian mother and grandmother's recipe. We use a full 32 oz container of ricotta, mixed with two eggs and italian seasonings, and only 12 oz of mozzarella. We also layer - starting with sauce in the bottom of the pan, then pasta, then ricotta/egg mixture, then mozzarella, repeat. Top with parmesan or romano cheese. Oh, and it's better the next day. Definitely a make-ahead possibility.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: PMCKAY1717
Good, comfort food. Agree w/other reviewers to reduce ricotta cheese to 15 oz. Also modified slighly so casserole's layers are a bit more distinct, vs all mixed together, per the following: Don't cook ziti the full time. Instead, only cook 1/2 the required time. The ziti will finish cooking in the oven. In the meantime, first beat the egg, then mix egg w/the ricotta & 1/3 of the amt. of the cheeses. Add 1/3 cup fresh minced parsley & 1/8 tsp pepper, 1/2 tsp salt to ricotta mixture. Drain half cooked ziti,then combine w/ricotta. Fill casserole dish by beginning w/a layer of sauce, then a layer of ziti/ricotta, some sauce, then some cheese, repeat, ending w/a bit of cheese on top. I have also combined a bit of extra parmesan w/3/4 cup breadcrumbs, then placed this as the final layer. It adds a bit of nice texture to the final casserole. Rather than make a very saucy casserole, I serve extra sauce on the side, for those who want more.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: STHURBER
This is an excellent recipe. I am hooked to the baked ziti at a local Italian restaraunt, but this is even better. If you love baked ziti, this is the best. Some people have suggested using sour cream, but you have to have ricotta cheese to make baked ziti!!! Some people have also said that there is too much cheese. But baked ziti is part cheese!!! You have to like cheese to enjoy it. Try this recipe it is amazing!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2007
Reviewed by: Wirefox Terrier Mom
This was very easy and good. The entire family enjoyed it. I added 1 pound of browned ground beef and followed others suggestions of layering: sauce, pasta, ricotta/egg/mozzerella mixture and repeat topping with sauce and parmesan cheese. I had cooked Baked Ziti I from this site, but everyone liked this one better. Thanks Nancy for the recipe and thank you reviewers for your suggestions. PS: I fixed this again without layering. It tasted the same, just isn't as "pretty". I did have to use a BIG bowl to mix the ingredients in, I mean BIG:-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2006
VERY TASTY. I WOULD DO LESS RICOTTA, ADD BROWNED HAMBURGER WITH GARLIC. I WOULD NOT MIX THE SPAGHETTI SAUCE WITH THE RICOTTA MIXTURE. I DOUBLED THE MOZZERELLA. I WOULD DO A LAYERING OF THE RICOTTA/ZITI MIXTURE AND THEN SPAGHETTI SAUCE, AND TOP WITH SAUCE AND MOZZERELLA. TASTED GREAT, SERVED WITH GARLIC BREAD.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: paynes
I LOVE this recipe! It makes wonderful leftovers too. I make this on Sunday nights and have leftovers for lunch all week! I've made this dish for years with a few adjustments, because it does have too much cheese. I only use 15 ounces of ricotta. Instead of mixing 1 pound of mozzarella with the noodles, I only mix about 2 handfuls. Just enough to see it melt, but not overpowering. Then I sprinkle the remaining mozzarella on top of the spaghetti sauce before putting it in the oven. This way I can monitor how much cheese I've got. Try these adjustments and I bet you'll give this 5 stars! (By the way, you can always add meat, mushrooms, etc.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes