My Reviews (326)

Chocolate Chip and Orange Scones

Make sure you use chilled butter with these scones or you won't get the perfect flaky texture. Chocolate and orange make them special.
Reviews (326)


Comment:
14 Dec 2008
CJTMO said:
Used different ingredients. I added 2 Tbs of cocoa powder
 
15 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: Trina
This is a SUPERB recipe! I made the suggested changes of adding 8Tb OJ and 8Tb butter and orange zest from 1/2 an orange...and instead of using a biscuit cutter, I just flattened the dough to 3/4" instead of a 1/2" and cut into triangles. I ended up with 8 good sized scones so I increased the baking time by 3-4 minutes. They were awesome tasting- the zest really brings up the orange taste up a notch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: VALENE
Yummy!! Like everyone else I had to use way more orange juice (I didn't keep track of how much just kept adding until it seemed right). I also used chocolate chunks and it ended up tasting just the chocolate scones at Starbucks. Now I can save my $1.50 and just make them at home - thanks!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: JESSCARTEN
Delish!!! (Just keep adding OJ little by little until it forms a dough.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: CJ NIEMIRA
Quite good.I didn't add more OJ to the mix, but I did add an additional 2 T of butter. I pack and form mine by hand (no pin, no cutter), so the dough is plenty moist for my liking. Try it this way if you like a more traditional (drier - more bisuit than muffin, but not a cookie) scone. They do a wonderful job of soaking up coffee or tea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: N0NNYM0USE
Very flavorful and sweet compared to many scone recipes I've tried. It's great for the sweet tooth, almost more like a chocolate chip bread than a scone. I used 1/2 c. orange juice and I also mixed an egg with the milk, because the dough was quite dry. Also sprinkled coarse sugar on top. Sweet-crazy coworkers loved it - thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: EJMEYER1
I also used 8TBS of OJ and the scones turned out great! Next time I will try cranberries for a festive holiday scone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: SELPHIE24
I absolutely loved these scones! They tasted wonderful. I also added more orange juice (about 8 more tablespoons) because the dough was a little dry. I also added a few more tablespoons of butter. It was very delicious. Thank you Holly!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: KRISTIN179
These were amazing! I substituted a dried fruit mix for the chips and they turned out great! They were gobbled up right away and I've been asked to make more. Thank you for this wonderfully easy and delicious recipe! (do need to add more oj though)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
13 Jan 2010
lbcornett said:
Used different ingredients. The recipe seems to be low on liquids. I added about 3/4 cup of milk and that was too much. Maybe about 1/2 cup would have been better. They turned out fine with the addition of a little more flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes