My Reviews (69)

Chicken and Matzo Ball Soup

The classic Jewish soup of matzo balls in chicken broth. Don't add too much meal to the matzo balls so as to make sure they float.
Reviews (69)


07 May 2017
Reviewed by: zsuzsanna22
this is the closest recipe I have found to the way my Hungarian Jewish mother used to make matzoh balls. No parsley and she used schmaltz (rendered chicken fat) instead of butter (which, btw, is what makes them kosher). The majority of recipes call for just matzoh meal and use seltzer to make them light and fluffy. In my family, we liked them solid and flavourful as I am sure these will be!
 
15 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: TRUE_QUEEN
hi I'm writing from Israel, I'm Jewish, and I agree that NOTHING in the world beats a good bowl of chicken soup, especially when it's winter and/or you're not feeling well. HOWEVER, I must add a small remark: this recipe is NOT KOSHER. I don't keep kosher, but I should explain why: any mix of dairy with meat is forbidden for all religious Jews. since the matzo balls in this recipe are made with butter, they are dairy. if you want this recipe to be kosher, substitute the butter with butter-flavored shortening, just make sure it's kosher, and non-dairy. enjoy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Leah Renee Bartlome
I love matzo ball soup!...but while the balls float, they don't seem to expand. Instead of turning out large and fluffy, they're smaller with tough insides. Any advice?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: HHERNAND
This recipe was fantastic! This was my first time making matzo ball soup, and it turned out perfectly. I used the lightly salted matzo and added a little extra butter. Note that this recipe makes about 30 or so matzo balls. I froze about half of the matzo balls, then defrosted and added to some broth for a quick soup on another day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: LEMASNEY
You have to have some big honkin pots sitting around to do this recipe justice, but it's worth it - a great outcome to be sure. Considerations: I used olive oil instead of butter, 5 finely processed matzo instead of purchased matzo meal, and my boxes were larger 16 oz boxes, so I used 20 matzo out of 28 available in 2 boxes. I would add a third large can of chicken broth because as it was, my matzo balls only had room to pile up. I would also try using a scoop with a release, like an 1/4 or 1/2 cup ice cream scoop. I boiled them for a half hour and they were perfect. All hail Oma.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Oct 2007
I rated this 5 stars because this is THE BEST Matzo Ball soup I have ever had!!! I made my own chicken broth (used only chicken necks, celery, carrots, onion and water) on Saturday, strained the broth, refridgerated it for 2 days so it could mellow out, and then followed the recipe for the matzo balls. They are awesome! I used the Manishevitz Egg and Onion Matzo crackers. Maybe that was the clincher. Im feeling like im catching a cold today, so this was the perfect dinner to have. Plus I have leftovers for a couple lunches! My 3 kids and husband also really liked it. THANKS OMA!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
In my heart, chicken soup will always be the perfect comfort food because my "Oma" made the best, except she used noodles. As an adult, I'm totally addicted to matzo ball soup and now my kids are too. This is a fantastic soup. If you've never tried making matzo balls, give this a shot; you'll probably never want to put just plain egg noodles in your soup again. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: kathycook
I separated the yolks from the whites. I whipped the whites until stiff and after mixing the ingredients I folded in the whites. All of the Matzo Balls floated to the top!! Great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: RJTABER
I used one onion, green onion, garlic, and parsley to roll into this mixture. In general matzo ball soup is bland, but this really kicked up the flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: megnrn
Very good. Makes lots of balls. I froze more than half of them. I thought I had my mixture wrong, because the balls did not float right away. Give them a few minutes, they floated for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes