My Reviews (27)

Cauliflower and Potato Aloo

This is a simple Indian vegetarian recipe also known as ‘Aloo Gobi ki Subzi’ that combines potatoes and cauliflower in a rich tomato based curry sauce.
Reviews (27)


23 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: MEDHALEE
I just wanted to let STARLITI know that the Aloo Gobi in the Indian restaurants will not taste like this recipe. Reasons: the oil used is much more and the cauliflower heads and/or the potatoes may also be deep fried before being mixed in. This recipe is a dish that is served on a regular basis in Indian homes and that is why it cannot be as rich as the one served in the Indian restaurants. The nice thing about Indian recipes is that you can mix ad vary the amount of spices based on your tastes - once you have figured out what you like! Hope this helps!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: THERESA WOLF
Fantastic recipe. To thicken the sauce, pureed poatoes may be added along with the potatoe cubes. I have found this gives the dish a more authentic flair.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: andrewfairley
Pretty decent all the way around. I added more than a pinch of turmeric; the asafoetida was, as in any dish, unnecessary.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: ZOPOOH
As written I thought this dish was lacking the Indian taste I like so much. I didn't use the asafoetida. It was very bland so I made the following changes. I used two cans Of diced tomatoes undrained instead of the romas, added more tumeric and cumin seeds, a dash of nutmeg, and some chili garlic paste and served over rice. The end result delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: Monica
I have been looking ALL over the place for this recipe. I never knew what it was called cuz I only had it at a friends house a few times. (she moved before I could ask her about it though) Anyway, this recipe ROCKS!!! I'm a vegetarian and it's really filling and good for you. YUM YUM YUM.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: KLOKANEK
This smelled wonderful when it was cooking! Next time I'll double everything except the cauliflower and potato--using the whole amounts really overwhelmed the spices and made it far blander than I'd like. And leftovers would be fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: CaroleM
This was okay. I didn't find the combination of mustard and cumin seeds to provide much flavor, so I also used red pepper, cumin, and coriander, which the aloo gobi recipe in my cookbook uses. I also added chicken broth to make it more saucy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: HOOTSKM
Thank you so much for this recipe! I added some garlic powder and substituted canned chopped tomatoes in place of the fresh. I have tried to order this recipe in restaurants but it never seems to look/taste the way I like it. Finally, I found what I was looking for. Thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: RADHI_NAIR
This recipe is a mild and homely tasting Indian side dish. Don't expect it to have the restaurant taste.Its ideal for people who want a mild yet flavourful curry over rice.Go easy on the cumin and mustard seeds.. just a pinch would be enough I used the garlic paste available in Indian stores and that worked out fine. I would make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
17 Dec 2008
angmunchkin said:
Took shortcuts. Perhaps the potato/cauliflour could be part-steamed prior to adding to the pan. I do this with the vegetables for my korma recipe; works perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes