My Reviews (153)

Italian Style Bread Salad

This is a perfect summer salad which is also a good use for leftover bread. The bread is even better if slightly stale as it stays crunchy when the dressing is added.
Reviews (153)


02 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: ENGILFOY
This salad was divine! My fiance absolutely loved it! I found when that if you toast fresh bread pieces in warm olive oil mixed with minced garlic it adds a great flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: CSANDST1
This salad was wonderful! Very fresh tasting and flavorful. I chopped all ingredients in food processor except for tomatoes and bread. Did not measure salad ingredients (only dressing). Ended up with a lot of salad so I doubled dressing. My picky husband enjoyed this! The next day I used the salad (minus bread) as a sauce. I sauteed boneless, skinless chicken breast pieces; added salad and heated through and served over pasta. Very tasty. Will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: LIZCANCOOK
Excellent taste. Very fresh! I kept the bread and salad separate, then we spooned each into individual bowls and tossed. This way, leftovers won't be a soggy mess. We added salt and pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: Annette
My husband and I loved this salad. The first time I made it I did not have thyme or red onion. I made it anyway and we thought that was delicious. When I had all the ingredients and tried it again it was out of this world. We both loved it. Mozzarella is a nice addition to this also. I did toast the bread and used only half of what was called for. I will make this over and over again this summer.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: ECTATE
It is a must to toast the bread - left out the thyme. Oh so good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: SUTHUN
Wonderful flavor!! I only used 8 slices of bread, 4 toasted and 4 not toasted to see which way we liked it. We much preferred the untoasted bread. Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: Donna
This is a GREAT salad. I minced the garlic and added it to the dressing. I also mixed the vingar (I used red wine) with a teaspoon of prepared mustard before combining with the oil so it would combine better. I would toast the bread in the oven next time first so it won't be so soggy. I left out the cucumbers and used all tomatoes too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2001
Reviewed by: NJSS2000
I used a lot less bread, my husband loved the taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: CAIRA01
Yummy! Make sure the bread is nice & stale. I had fresh bread that I had to broil to dry it slightly. The bread still seemed to soak up all the oil & vinegar too quickly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2000
Reviewed by: Jill
my husband and i thought this was delicious! next time, i'll try red wine vinegar, instead of balsamic, and fresh tomatoes from the garden. yummy...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes