My Reviews (13)

Matzo Kugel with Mushrooms

Matzo kugel is a Passover dish but it also makes a nice savory side dish any time of year. This one has mushrooms and onions and is seasoned with garlic and dill.
Reviews (13)


24 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: gayle
i modified this recipe after reading the reviews. i used one box of matzo, crumbled. i added one lb sliced and sauteed mushrooms and two diced onions, also sauteed in butter (can use margerine). I added one "box" of chicken broth heated(since others said the taste was disappointing). i let this cool and added 3 beaten eggs (to hold it together). i added about 1 teaspoon of thyme and salt and pepper (to taste) i baked this covered in a greased 9x13 inch pyrex casserole at 325 (COVERED) for one hour. there was one very small square left after the seder!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: JBS618
I sauteed garlic with the onions and mushrooms and drained most of the liquid out before adding to the farfel. I also added 2 beaten eggs to the mixture before baking. The kugel was delicious!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2000
Reviewed by: HRUSHING
Very simple to put together, but in the end it was a very simple taste. Adding some more spices and seasonings will certainly liven this dish up.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: LINDA
This is very delicious. It needs a lot of salt and pepper. Taste it before you bake it. I added two beaten eggs as someone had suggested. I think it is needed to hold it together. Made it in an 8 x 8 pan and baked it for 40 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: SKORNBLUTH
This was was not only delicious for our seder but would make a great stuffing for turkey or chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Elisabeth Chambers
I prepared this dish for our community passover celebration for 116 people. I added more pepper and garlic than called for. It was served plain or with chicken gravy. There were many good raves and requests for the recipe. excellant recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: LALA11
I was totally disappointed with this recipe. Too much dilland it didn't stay together after baking...The gravy from the brisket made it tolerable however I wouldn't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: BELINDA
With modifications it was great. I added brocolli, extra garlic, salt, 1/2 of a boulion cube.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Chef4Six
I made this recipe into a pilaf instead of a kugel. I sauteed the onions and mushrooms and some garlic on the stove top, add the softened matzo farfel, added about 1/4 cup of water with chicken soup seasoning, salt and pepper, once the pilaf cooked a bit I added freshly chopped basil and parsley and one beaten egg to the mixture to make some pieces stick together but not to make the whole mixture too dense like a baked kugel. It was really good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: t_jones
The recipe needs quite a few alterations. I added eggs and chicken broth as suggested , mine turned out very thin as it didnt state what size pan to put it in.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes