My Reviews (12)

Maids of Honour Tarts I

These individual tarts have a raspberry surprise in the bottom. Vanilla essence may be substituted for the almond essence.
Reviews (12)


29 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: PENNYMCKWN
I needed to bake something for my son's Elizabethan social studies class project. We found a reference that these tarts were named for the maids of honour of Queen Elizabeth I. These tarts were delicious and a big hit with the kids and teacher in my son's class. I used mini-muffin tins, kept the oven rack at the regular position, and had good results using 10-12 minutes baking time. Also, since I used the mini-muffin tins, I reduced the amount of jam in each tart, probably to about 1/4 teaspoon. Wonderful taste and yummy combination!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: VoodooKitty
I made these for a church bake sale and they were a fabulous hit! Amazing taste, I used raspberry jam, blueberry jam, and even lemon curd. All versions were just great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: hamlin
I made these for christmas, they are delicious and added icing to each tartlet a cherry and angelica to make them look a bit christmassy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
27 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Englishmanabroad
I doubled the recipe and made this as a slice/tray tart. Also substituted 1 oz of the flour with almond meal. Turned out great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
20 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: J
Wowza, so good! Tastes kind of like a raspberry shortbread cookie in a tartshell. Mmm! I can see that trying different jams would be good too. I cheated and used store bought frozen tart shells so they were super quick and easy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Gemini_SweetSoul
Tasty and not overly sweet. I used a discovered recipe for dough (involving a great deal of cream cheese, butter, and flower), and substituted rum for the almond extract (because I had nothing else). Also, I used blackberry jam (again, because I had nothing else). Turned out well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: Sammywhammy
Super easy to make. I used a wine glass to cut out pastry rounds. Also a small teaspoon of jam otherwise it overflows! Really nice and will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
04 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Great Pie Maker
These are sooo good. Made these for my husband and daughter. Made some with raspberry jam for my husband and some with grape jam for my daughter. The have a great flavor. Going to make again for Christmas to hand out with all my goodies!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Susannaplease2015
I tweaked it for my school project. But, overall, they were great, especially since I had never heard of them before!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
20 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: Ann
Nice recipe but it is a recipe for mini Bakewell tarts, not Maids of honour which contain curd cheese
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes