My Reviews (411)

Moroccan Lentil and Bean Soup

A very thick and hearty soup with lentils, chickpeas, cannellini beans and a mixture of vegetables. Delicious and vegan.
Reviews (411)


21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: sandyh
Upon sampling this soup, my morrocan husband stated, "something is in there that doesn't belong in there." When i rattled off the list of spices he said the Garam Marsala didn't belong, although he stated it was good. For an authentic morrocan taste, substitute "Rus Al Hanoot" for the Garam Marsala. GM is a blend of indian spices, while Rus Al Hanoot is a blend of morrocan spices.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
cja said:
Something else. This is good, and so easy. I did it in the slow cooker, and didn't saute anything beforehand, just threw it all in (no oil). Sadly, I forgot to buy fresh root ginger so I just used dried. I had brown lentils, so I used those instead, but am interested in trying the red. Cooked for about 12 hours on low, and it was perfect. Thick and yummy. I only used a sprinkle of cayenne. Served with warm wholemeal pittas
 
07 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Lampfishes
Good, easy recipe but a teaspoon of salt accentuates the spices which are otherwise insipid. Fried the spices for the last minute of step 1. Next time I will double the spices apart from the cayenne. Added a dessert spoon of smoked paprika which gave it a more authentic Moroccan flavour. Excellent recipe.
 
18 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Ran180
Great quick recipe and very tasty. I added chorizo sausage to it, to keep the boyfriend happy with the meat content, and it went down perfect...dont even think he realised how healthy the meal actually was
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
SCOTCHGIRL said:
Something else. Pretty good...nice & spicy. It made a good meal with some rice. I cooked it in a slow cooker which made it a lot easier...I didn't have to worry about stirring it on the hob. Also, I used chicken stock and water instead of just water.
 
26 May 2012
Reviewed by: danraus79
Good soup I added Black Lime powder, 375 mls chicken stock and a 2 tsp of Marigold Swiss Vegetable Boullion the best and left out the Garam Masala and doubled all the spice quantities. Middle eastern food is all about the flavour, I like it spicy to get the endorphins flowing great winter feed. Also I left out the celery as I used to cut it and it brings you out in these terrible painful rashes they are not sure if it's the celery sap or the Pesticide so no celery for me
 
07 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: BumbleBeetle
The whole family loves this one, exchanged the water for vegie stock which made it more flavoursome and only used a third of the cardamom (not a big fan).
 
12 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: louise12
 
28 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: anabela
Good soup. I had to cook the beans (white beans) and chickpeas as canned are very expensive here in Brazil because are imported. Also missed celery because almost all the time can't find it here. Added leek which is different but... Also added spices while frying onions. I little too much of cayenne pepper for people who do not like it hot. Easy but start early.
 
20 May 2010
Reviewed by: cadmangaz
was excellent, easy to make, put a tad too much cayenne, but was very nice. will definately do again.
 

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes