My Reviews (592)

Spiced Pumpkin Pie

Pumpkin pie made with fresh pumpkin is just the perfect dessert for any time of year, but especially good in the colder months.
Reviews (592)


01 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Marlz
loved this. i used the soy evaporated milk that is now available to make it dairy free i made my own pastry for same reason.
 
27 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: teetwoh
the filling's delicious. I made the mistake of using a sweet pastry however. I'll definitely try again...
 
Comment:
10 Sep 2010
 
15 Oct 2004
Reviewed by: GENIE66
Well, I thought I messed up. I baked the pumpkin for an hour, it was tender when I poked it. As I scraped the flesh away from its skin, it was gritty and dry, not mushy or smooth as I thought it would be. I had already mixed the eggs, sugar etc. so I had to give it a try. It poured into the pie crust (two regular sized ones) like water! I was so upset because I was to take it to Thanksgiving dinner the next morning!! It baked up beautifully and not a crumb was left the next day! I'm making another (one deep dish this time) and this time the pumpkin scraped off smooth like it is out of a can, NEVER fear, it will work out no matter the texture of the pumpkin! I used the Best Ever Pie Crust recipe from this site.....it's terrific!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Ouiser Chastain
I have baked 4 of these. The first time I followed the recipe to the letter. Great pie, but just a little more spice is needed for my family's personal taste. The second time I baked it, I increased the pumpkin pie spice to 1 Tablespoon and everyone thought it was better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: SNOOPYGIRL
I made this recipe with my jack-o-lantern the day after Halloween. It tasted great even with regular pumpkin (note: one good sized jack-o-lantern makes about 4 pies). My husband loved it! One suggestion: for a really smooth, creamy pie blend the filling in the blender on puree for a few seconds AFTER you've mixed the ingredients. It really smoothed it out. This one is a definite keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: MakeItWork
I would give 4.5 stars but don't have the option. Reason being is that I use my own combination of fresh ground spices instead of store bought pumpkin pie spice. The recipe itself is great otherwise. Note: I only use 3/4 can of the evap milk or my filling seemed a bit loose. I personally think making fresh puree makes a difference so I prepare more pumpkin puree (frozen in 2C containers) for another time. I'm also not into making crust so I use the Ms Smith pre-made pie shells or Pills ready crust, which are pretty darn good for store bought and less fuss. Oh, I forgot...I also blind bake the pie crust and cool b4 filling to avoid soggy crust (375 for 10 minutes) If your pie filling seems loose at the end of baking time, turn the oven off and just leave it until it's more "set". Good stuff, thanks for the post!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2000
Reviewed by: GEORGIA1949
My husband says this is the best pumpkin pie I have ever made. I also prebaked the pie crust at 425 degrees for about 10 minutes. Than I filled and followed the receipe. It made the crust nice and crisp.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Dana Hall
This will be the 5th Thanksgiving that I have made this pie. Let me just say that it is FANTASTIC. Fresh pumpkin really makes this pie. I agree with other reviewers about adding extra spices, but it is great as-is also. I always use the "BAKERS SECRET PIE CRUST" recipe from this site. It comes out perfect everytime. Another variation is to use the struesel topping from the "Brown Family's Favorite Pumpkin Pie" recipe also on this site. The streusel is great with walnuts or my family's favorite- pecans. YUM! You won't be dissapointed!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: LPS
This is the best pumpkin pie that I have ever had. Even my hard to impress father-in-law loved it. I usually bake several pumpkins at once and freeze the puree in 2c (enough for one pie) batches. The recipe is almost too much for one pie, I keep those tiny pre-made pie shells on hand to make "extra" pies if the pan is too full. Fresh whipped cream is wonderful on this pie - adding a touch of Myers rum to the cream is even better!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes