My Reviews (1,452)

Raspberry Oat Slice

This is the easiest slice to make and it is even better if you have homemade raspberry jam to use. Great for picnics, lunch boxes, school fetes and anytime really.
Reviews (1452)


04 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: vickilawlor
Love this slice. Very easy to prepare.I received many compliments when I took it to work.Could make it with any jam.I warmed jam in microwave to maker it easier spreading.This will be a family regular for sure!
 
07 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: littlemum
this was so quick an easy ! I made it with my 2 year old and it was ready in no time . just delicious I will keep this recipe handy for any time the cupboards are bare or we have to take a plate to share somewhere
 
08 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: rmakoto
VERY good recipe! Not too sweet, the sweetest part is the jam, as it should be.
 
29 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: PRINCESS AMY
I make these all the time. I've made some modifications to make them healthier (sub applesauce for some of butter, whole wheat pastry flour, less sugar, less jam filling), and my kids love them. If you make a double batch and substitute an egg for 1/4 cup of the butter, they don't crumble as much. I melt the butter and just stir it in.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: MommyFromSeattle
I was a little skeptical on the taste of these bars since the ingredient list was so short, but WOW!!, was I amazed. These are buttery, moist, crunchy and sweet. Not dry or crumbly at all and SOOOO easy to make. Definitely double the recipe because these disappear fast and the original recipe doesn't make that much. I've also added 1 teaspoon lemon zest to the jam b4 before baking and it enhanced the flavor wonderfully. Tip: if using cold jelly, warm it up about 20-30 seconds in the microwave. This will make spreading much easier! I used jelly with seeds and it tasted great, can't tell a difference. These also keep soft and tender for days - so great for giving. You can't go wrong with this one - tastes just as awesome as the ones in my local gourmet bakery. This will be my master recipe for these bars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: naples34102
My husband said these were 5 star bars and I almost felt guilty...didn't EVEN tell him how little effort it took to make them! What a great recipe to go to when you need something sweet, home baked, don't want to make a major project out of it, and with just a few ingredients that you always have on hand!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: SUSIE
I really like these. I did bump them up a bit this time though. I used seedless blackberry Polaner All Fruit and slightly less than called for (a double batch would call for 12oz and I used a 10oz jar). I made a double batch in a 9x13" pan and greased it really well and had no trouble getting it out. I also sprinkled the jam with a few handfuls of white and semi-sweet chocolate chips before adding the final topping layer and pressing it all in. The key to this not crumbling is to really work the SOFTENED butter into the dry ingredients with your hand. If you just stir it, it won't work enough of the fat through it and it will fall apart after it's baked. All in all, a nice, sweet, easy, cookie.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Noraspat
When I make these and almost every other recipe for baked goods I replace butter and margarine with canola oil to cut down on saturated fats and hydrogenated fats. I use canola in all my muffin recipes with great success I never use artificial sweeteners just cut back on sugars till I get it right. Diabetes can be difficult to manage in these days of convenience foods. I love Allrecipes nutritional information. When printing recipes go to advanced print options and check nutritional information for every recipe, this feature is fantastic.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2001
These were delicious! My only mistake was not leaving enough room between the raspberry jam and the pan, and so my raspberry leaked to the sides and was a little bit burnt. It still tasted great though!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Resa Matteoli
These were PERFECT in every way! Easy, quick, and delicious! I love to bake and do bake a lot and I get lots of compliments on my treats. These moist yummy bars were way up at the top of the raves. Try em. The only changes - apricot jam (because that's what I had on hand). I doubled the basic recipe, sprayed 9x13 plus lined the sides with sprayed parchment. They were easy to cut and super easy to get out of the pan. I drizzled a tiny bit of white chocolate on top (not necessary). I almost forgot, I also added a tsp of cinnamon to the oatmeal mixture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes