My Reviews (262)

Classic Scottish Shortbread

Very simple, only three ingredients, but very addictive. This recipe doesn't make a huge batch because it is not as good the next day.
Reviews (262)


04 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Kelburg83
my kids loved this recipe, but my hubby who is a HUGE shortbread fan only rated it 3/5.
 
12 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: MOUSIREID
If you WEIGH 2oz sugar, 4oz butter and 6oz flour for a round pan this is PERFECT. Simple and AUTHENTIC recipe - trust me the generations of home shortbread makers in Scotland will tell you the same thing! Thank you for this great recipe. (Use your hands and mix then plop into pan and press in, prick with fork, cook on 300 degrees for thirty minutes and when it starts to BROWN slightl it will be ready. Cut when still cooling and sprinkle sugar on top). PERFECT.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Michiru
This shortbread recipe has made me famous around the neighborhood. The best part of this recipe is that it is a quick and easy make with ingredients I usually have around the house that is super delicious. One tip I learned from a French chef that makes this recipe even better than it already is: when adding the butter to the flour and sugar, it helps if you chill the butter first and then cut it up into small cubes (I cut the butter in half lengthwise twice and just chop from there). Then, with your fingertips, knead the butter into the flour and sugar. The idea here is not to end up with dough but rather crumbs. If you start to end up with dough, you should put the dough in the refrigerator a while to let it cool down. After you end up with crumbs, you should let it sit in the refrigerator for at least an hour before baking (half the time I skip this step though). Additionally, as someone else has already said, wait to cut the shortbread until it's cooled because it comes out of the oven very soft and will crumble if you cut it just after it comes out of the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: CLARE L
Oh My God...these are wonderful. I baked them a little longer(until top had just a hint of color). They were perfect ...crispy with softer centers. Do not cut until completely cold, then they won't crumble. Excellent!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Jacquied
My Gran taught me a similar recipe, which is easy to remember. 2oz Caster Sugar 4oz unsalted butter 6oz Plain Flour This is easily doubled up to make 1 whole baking tray full then cut into fingers while still warm...always prick with a fork before baking whether making rounds or fingers. Sprinkle with Castor Sugar when cool.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
23 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: SHELIMEW
I made these before going to a campout along with another type of cookie I made oft times before. I look for easy inexpensive recipes because I like to share and don't have much money or time. These Scottish cookies are absolutely wonderful. Very easy to make. Crumbly, but not too bad in that area. And though the texture was a bit of a surprise, it added to the overall effect. They taste great without any embellishments and are very filling. They were a HUGE hit at the campout and I have people requesting more for next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2008
Reviewed by: Nicole Bredben
The recipe is good and easy. I baked these for my British neighbors with rave reviews. The helpful advice I followed from the reviewers: I baked these at 300 degrees for 30 min, I mixed the ingredients by hand, sprinkled w/sugar after baking and cut once they had cooled a bit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: MPS6294
This was excellent! Tasted like traditional Walker's Scottish shortbread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
Comment:
28 May 2009
1Tom said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Used smaller dish for thick slices and left in oven for 1 hour. Perfection
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
07 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Jae77
Absolutely yummy. I really have to let it go cold, before you cut it up. Or it will crumble.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes