My Reviews (69)

Sugar-free Rugelach

Sultanas, walnuts and sugar-free apricot jam provide the sweetness in these delectable Jewish pastries. They look amazing but are simple to make.
Reviews (69)


Comment:
21 Jul 2008
KTHOMASXYZ said:
Something else. Wonderful! I need good sugar free items for several members of my family and this is the best recipe yet. I divided the dough, wrapped in cling film and chilled. It was very easy to get the 16 triangles and they practically rolled themselves! I rolled each 1/4 of dough between sheets of greaseproof paper. When I had each round the right size I carefully peeled back the paper, dusted with flour, layed each round on baking tray and chilled for about 10 minutes before I layered fruit and nut mixture. I too brushed each with fruit spread just as they came out of the oven. Thanks for this recipe. It is the greatest!
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
Something else. Fantastic recipe. Everyone loves it. No need to tell anyone it is sugarfree. Last year I made some with a raspberry creamcheese filling. Beat creamcheese with a little splenda and little SF raspberry preserves. ( Sorry, I rarely measure anything) You can also use this dough in a mini tart tin. I did that too last year.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
DIXIEEDARLIN said:
Used different ingredients. This recipe I altered by using wholemeal flour instead of the plain and I believe it added a delightful nutty crunch. Though , it was harder to see if they were golden brown! I regret not putting on more apricot spread, for they were a bit dry, but I can easily adjust that. I would also increase the filling amount next time, I still have a quarter of dough in my fridge because I ran out! But I will be making this again soon! Great with coffee and tea!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: TERESAMAS
Both of my parents are diabetic, and since I love to bake, I always like to bring something home to them for family get togethers that they can eat (and is yummy.) It was a family occasion that I first brought these home for. The best thing about this recipe is that EVERYONE loves it. And if you don't tell people it's sugar free, they'll never know!!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Maggie
These are VERY good. BUT, as a diabetic/ nutrition freak I must caution users that just because a recipe does not have refined or added sugar does NOT mean that it is "safe for diabetics." Naturally sweet (at least in this case) means naturally high in sugar. Although these are better than most biscuit recipes, they still contain apricot and raisins which have a LOT of fructose and must be eaten in moderation by anyone who has a sensitivity to sugar or carbs, as they are high on the glycemic index.
 
20 May 2006
Reviewed by: klzee
These are VERY good. BUT, as a diabetic/ nutrition freak I must caution users that just because a recipe does not have refined or added sugar does NOT mean that it is "safe for diabetics." Naturally sweet (at least in this case) means naturally high in sugar. Although these are better than most cookie recipes, they still contain apricot and raisins which have a LOT of fructose and must be eaten in moderation by anyone who has a sensitivity to sugar or carbs, as they are high on the glycemic index.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: FOODJUNKY1
Wonderful! I need good sugar free items for several members of my family and this is the best cookie recipe yet. I used 1/3 C. Splenda in dough and 2 Tbls. in raisin/nut mixture. I divided the dough, wrapped in Glad Wrap and chilled. It was very easy to get the 16 triangles and they practically rolled themselves! I rolled each 1/4 of dough between sheets of waxed paper. When I had each round the right size I carefully peeled back the wax paper, dusted with flour, layed each round on cookie sheet and chilled for about 10 minutes before I layered fruit and nut mixture. I too brushed each with fruit spread just as they came out of the oven. It's nice because I prepared raisins/nuts mixture, put in plastic bag; then later stirred up dough and chilled it; then later on I made the cookies. This makes it seem less labor intensive. Thanks for this recipe. It is the greatest!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: PANTHERA
Both of my parents are diabetic, and since I love to bake, I always like to bring something home to them for family get togethers that they can eat (and is yummy.) It was a family occasion that I first brought these home for. The best thing about this recipe is that EVERYONE loves it. And if you don't tell people it's sugar free, they'll never know!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Nicole
These are great but they are not for diabetics. Grains are as bad for a diabetic as sugar and that includes flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Gen
Since I made some changes (not by choice) they had a lovely mild sweet taste to them. Great way to snack and satisfy your cravings without feeling guilty. A few of these could serve as a quick breakfast. Instead of walnuts, I used pecans. Instead of apricot preserves, I used Smucker's low sugar strawberry. Instead of margarine, I used 1/2 stick butter and 1/2 cup applesauce then added milled flaxseed for the pastry.***UPDATE*** I made this again but I didn't have cream cheese. I used sour cream and plain yogurt with a bit more flour, I had to bake it twice as long and it still came out awesome!! This is my favorite recipe, I will make this more often, maybe fill it with other things like tomatoes and mozzarella.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes