My Reviews (38)

Chocolate Bourbon Bread Pudding

This is a rich and decadent bread pudding with a toasted pecan and bourbon sauce. It's always a treat!
Reviews (38)


23 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: MystTeree
Wonderful recipe - will definetly make again. The pudding was perfect consistency - thick and rich. Altered the sauce recipe a bit - substituted dark rum for the bourbon and omitted the pecans. Called it "hot buttered rum sauce"
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Kelly P.
Delicious bread pudding! I didn't make the sauce, and I used only whole milk in the pudding. Turned out great, thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Roger C
This is a very rich pudding. It has been a favorite of my family and friends for some time. The sauce is my favorite. I like making a big recipe so there are leftover for a couple of days.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Kim
I thought this was good, but mine did not turn out as fabulous as others. I used a bit less bread, as some talked about, but I felt the pudding was too squishy in the middle when served. It didn't have any texture, just sort of sponge-like. Next time I would prepare exactly as instructed. I also had a hard time getting all the bread and pudding to fit into a 9x13 pan, and would not try to make it all fit. Finally, I didn't feel the caramel sauce was worth the effort. Sorry, but it was no better than a jar of Dove caramel sauce, and next time I wouldn't bother with that. Overall a good recipe, and well received, but not super out of this world. Will try again though, for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: WJLDOC
I have sad this same recipe for several years and recently lost it. I was excited to find it hear. It is always a favorite. The only negative is that is time consuming, but well worth it. It is great for special occassions and dinner parties.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: SusanB
I made this for a Cajun dinner party and it was a huge hit. Like others, I added some chocolate chips and pecans to the pudding. You do need to let the bread & custard mixture sit a while before baking, to let it really soak in. The caramel sauce was very good, but a little runny for my personal taste - I added some butter, salt, more cream and more bourbon to give it more ooomph, but next time, I'll just use another caramel sauce recipe that I like better. We just ate it at room temp and everyone loved it. Definitely will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Shelene
This was decadent and rich. I added chocolate chips--yum--but did think the sauce was (while cool to make) a bit too sweet. The combination of the super rich sauce and the super rich pudding was maybe just too much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: John G
fantastic!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: Jennifer Zordich Small
I made this to celebrate a coworker as she said it was her favorite dessert. I was told not to being it ever again because it was so addictive! Well worth the time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: Miriam
I made this for my sister-in-law's birthday dinner in lieu of a cake. She loves bread pudding, and this one is a hit! Thank you for sharing it, Jaclyn
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes