My Reviews (38)

Chocolate Bourbon Bread Pudding

This is a rich and decadent bread pudding with a toasted pecan and bourbon sauce. It's always a treat!
Reviews (38)


02 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: BevF
I like another reviewer added more chips on the top for an even more chocolately flavor. I have also made it with cinnamon raisin bread. Pretty tasty also.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Cook of the House
People were asking to take some of this home with them. I added the bourbon earlier in the instructions in order to reduce the strength of the taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Holly Smith
I made this recipe for New Year's Eve since my husband said it was his all-time favorite dessert. Oh My!!! This was the best thing I've ever eaten...ever! That sentiment has been repeated by everyone who was lucky enough to sample Saturday's fare. I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of adding Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate morsels sprinkled on top of the pudding before baking. Thank you!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: ROCKINJAZZGRL
Whole family enjoyed it. After it was in the pan I added a few handfuls of chocolate chips on top because the pudding didn't taste chocolatey enough. The chips helped, but next time I think I will reduce the amount of bread I used (3/4 lb) and increaes the amount of chocolate. I used 1% milk instead of whole, and the pudding was still rich. Will definitely make again, and will use the leftover pecan carmel sauce on icecream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Omigosh! This is a truly decadent dessert. Worth every minute of your time and effort! I received rave reviews with many wanting a second serving in spite of the calories.Thanks Jack!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: rudechack
I made this to bring to a family party, and it was kind of a last-minute decision. I'd never made bread pudding before, so I wasn't sure what to expect for results. But THIS was a winner. We had a loaf of really nice walnut sourdough bread from our CSA that we needed to use up, so that was the basis for this dish. I didn't make any changes to the recipe other than adding a little more chocolate than was called for (an ounce seemed too little). I poured the sauce over the top of the bread pudding when it came out of the oven so that I could transport it all together, we drove an hour to the party, and it was another three or four hours before we touched this, and yet it was still warm. People RAVED about this. It was seriously the hit of the party. Even people who claimed to have aversions to bread pudding liked this, and everyone asked for the recipe. It may not be healthy, but a little bit goes a long way and it's sure to be a crowd-pleaser!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: WHIP1UP
I made this for the first time Thanksgiving 08. It was the rave. It was so good people ate it without the Bourbon sauce. The sauce was excellent by the way. I'll make it again...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: ANGELFROMHEAVEN
This dish is heavenly! I halved the recipe, using a 9"X9" dish instead. Since I didn't have the chocolate squares on hand, I used a cup of semi sweet chocolate chips instead. The only change that I would make is to the caramel sauce, I would omit the bourbon, just a personal preference. Very rich and chocolately!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2009
Reviewed by: Diana Fijalkowski
This bread pudding was so tasty! Definitely takes a lot of time to prepare, but is well worth the effort. For those who don't care for bourbon, it does cook out and the flavor isn't extremely strong (in my opinion anyway) but it most definitely adds more depth than serving the pudding on its own. The pudding is great, the pudding served with the sauce is out of this world. A new favorite, definitely.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: David
I made this for work and was not able to make the sauce but the bread pudding was stil great. There was even someone who does not like bread pudding a lot said she liked this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes