My Reviews (674)

Chicken and Apple Salad

This salad has a lovely mix of fruit and vegetables and a little curry powder for some zing. Better if you can make it the day ahead.
Reviews (674)


18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: love2cook
This version is perfect (as long as you like curry)!! Boiling chicken to perfection is hard to do so here's my tips: Cut up your raw chicken in chunks and bring to the boil in chicken stock. Boil for just a couple of minutes and then put a lid on, take off the hob and just let it sit for 15 minutes or so. It cooks slowly like this and results in a perfect texture and flavour.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: UnicDreams
LOVE this recipe, my favourite of all recipes I have tried at this site. It is healthy, relatively simple to make, can be made ahead of time (although Hubby keeps eating it up). I often substitute depending on what I have on hand without any problems: leftover chicken, leftover turkey, walnuts, cranberries, etc. This is one of the few recipes my husband and my own mum has complimented me on more than once.
 
22 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: orainer
Made this yesterday for partner and we loved it. Had it with tortilla wrap and used chopped up walnuts since i didnt have currants/pecans. It was yum-yum!! Boiled the chicken as recommended by love2cook. Turned out perfect! Going to make it again tonight for the rest of the family. Enjoy!
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
JETORIA said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Wonderful! I used a whole rottiserie chicken, increased the mayonnaise, increased the curry to 1 tsp. and it turned out great. Definitely my favourite. Thanks.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: PIETZSCHE
I gave this 4 stars the day before yesterday, thinking it was better than okay, but not outstanding. Well, yesterday, and especially today, the flavours have melded together, the curry flavour has mellowed, the fruity flavours have brightened, it tastes like a great chicken salad for a picnic lunch, but about 20 times better. WOW. TRY THIS RECIPE! But, don't judge until it's had a chance to sit in the fridge for at least 1 day. ....
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Irish916
Excellent! I have eaten this stuffed into a pitta and also rolled into a wholemeal tortilla wrap with a green salad on the side for lunch.
 
17 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Peachy
HOLY MOLY. I gave this 4 stars the day before yesterday, thinking it was better than okay, but not outstanding. Well, yesterday, and especially today, the flavors have melded together, the curry flavor has mellowed, the fruity flavors have brightened, it tastes like a great amercian chicken salad for a picnic lunch, but about 20 times better. WOW. TRY THIS RECIPE! But, don't judge until it's had a chance to sit in the fridge for at least 1 day. ..... p.s. I used about 4 Tbs. Miracle Whip Light (25 cals/Tbs) and I don't think it could have tasted better with full fat mayo. To keep the cals to a minimum, remember that 1/2 cup of nuts packs a big calorie punch, so chop them small and reduce the amount to 1/4 or 1/3 cup. And use nuts that are especially healthy, such as walnuts (excellent source of Omega-3 fats), if you want those extra calories to really count for something, nutritionally.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: love2cook
Wow, this is my new chicken salad recipe. I am a bit of a chicken salad 'snob' in that I have made so many different varieties and order it very often at restaurants. This version is perfect (as long as you like curry)!! Boiling chicken to perfection is hard to do so here's my 5 cents worth: Cut up your raw chicken in chunks and bring to a boil in chicken broth. Boil for just a couple of minutes and then put a lid on, take off the stove and just let it sit for 15 minutes or so. It cooks slowly like this and results in a perfect texture and flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Irish916
Excellent! I modified this recipe by omitting the apple and grapes and using craisins in place of raisins and chunk chicken in a can to save time and it tasted great. The tasted of curry in this really makes this salad and you definitely need to make sure to let the flavors "marinate" for a few hours before serving as the taste is much better then. I have eaten this stuffed into a pita pocket and also rolled into a wheat tortilla wrap with a green salad on the side for lunch.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: JETORIA
Wonderful! I used a whole rottiserie chicken, increased the mayonnaise to 1 cup, increased the curry to 1 tsp., added craisins instead of raisins and it turned out great. Definitely my favorite. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes