My Reviews (675)

Mascarpone Tiramisu

This classic Italian dessert is made with sponge finger or savoiardi biscuits and mascarpone cheese.
Reviews (675)


Comment:
18 Jul 2008
NANNOUSE said:
Something else. This was EXCELLENT! I can't even begin to tell you how amazing this Tiramisu is. I have some points to make, 1. it's EASY, 2. It's great that the eggs are cooked, 3. I didn't add any vanilla at all even though I was worried that since there were 6 egg yolks it will have this eggy smell, but it didn't, 4. I only used espresso and no coffee liqueur, 5. I chilled the bowl that I was planning on beating the cream in, 6. I refrigerated the mascarpone/egg mix while I was beating the cream. 7. And this might be helpful, use a cheese cake tin, chill it, and the next morning you can just pop the tiramisu out. It looked beuatiful! I decorated it with some fresh raspberries and slices of strawberries, grated chocolate and dusted cocoa powder. Took it to work and everyone oooed and aahhhed at it. It tasted very very good!!!! By the way, it's important you chill over night.
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
Pigu said:
Altered ingredient amounts. excellent recipe!! rave reviews from everyone!!! i found that i had to 1/2 the sugar. also, the double boiler must be on the lowest heat setting!! too high will cause the egg to cook and clump, and must be cooked for the full 10 minutes, otherwise sugar grains will appear in your tiramisu. also i accidentally went out of order the first time and whipped the cream first. bad idea. the whole tiramisu came out runny (as the whipped cream had slightly melted). the tiramisu consistency highly depends on the whipped cream consistency!!!! excellent recipe, have made a dozen times!!
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
LGIORGI said:
Used different ingredients. This is brilliant! ...this was the best dessert I've ever made! I brushed on really potent coffee, no alcohol, and it was a great, light, coffee and chocolate taste!
 
16 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Ohsoyum
Thankyou for a seriously fab recipe. My husband just loves tiramisu and he is now wondering how often is it feasible to make this! It was easy enough to make, I read all previous reviews and used their advice so thanks all for that. I didn't put it in a loaf dish, and luckily as it made heaps and would not have fit. Next time I will half the recipe. I also used electric beaters for the 10mins with the egg which I may not do next time, my husband thinks it was a bit too fluffy, he would like it a bit thicker. I made up coffee to dunk the biscuits instead od liquer but otherwise made no changes, and it's delish
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
KB in CA said:
Something else. I have made this many times, LOVE it and get loads of compliments!!! Here is a summary of the tips I use from other reviewers: I like to layer the dessert in a loaf shape. Yes, your "filling" should be thick enough to do this! I use a hand-held electric mixer when cooking the egg yolks & sugar (for the full 10 min. on low heat). I refrigerate the mascarpone mix while beating the cream, in a chilled bowl, until it is very stiff. Instead of the Kahlua, I make extra strong coffee (4 TBSP coffee per 175ml water). I dunk the ladyfingers completely, but quickly, in the coffee. It is even better a day or two later. Thanks so much for the recipe Carol!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: CHRIS9B9
When I first made Tiramisu (a different recipe), I went to my local supermarket and bought the only type of sponge fingers they offered. They were hard as rocks and even had a picture of Tiramisu on the package (No, they weren't just stale). You need to buy the soft variety. I have not come across a Tiramisu recipe that distinguishes between the two kinds. My fingers did not absorb the liquids when following the directions to dip them for just a few seconds -- and turned out unpleasantly chewy. Hope this info helps avert a first time flop for some Tiramisu lover.
 
15 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: AngelaH
Thanks Carol for sharing this delicious recipe. I was so proud of this dish and did not alter the recipe at all. Thanks other reviewers for your advise on chilling the mix and to Pigu for recommending a low heat to avoid cooking the egg. Great advice, as I have an induction stove and it cooks very fast. Rather than buying a large bottle of coffee liquor that no one in my house drinks, I bought a $4.00 miniature bottle of Tia Maria that will have enough to make another batch soon. Again, thank you Carol. YOU ROCK!!!!!
 
12 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: CHRIS9B9
Just a reply to MCCREARY74's comment about the Ladyfingers being so hard. When I first made Tiramisu (a different recipe), I went to my local supermarket and bought the only type of Ladyfingers they offered. They were hard as rocks (like Stella D'oro breakfast cookies), and even had a picture of Tiramisu on the package (No, they weren't just stale). You need to buy the soft variety. I have not come across a Tiramisu recipe that distinguishes between the two kinds of Ladyfingers. My Ladyfingers did not absorb the liquids when following the directions to dip them for just a few seconds--and turned out unpleasantly chewy. Hope this info helps avert a first time flop for some Tiramisu lover.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: NANNOUSE
This was EXCELLENT! I can't even begin to tell you how amazing this Tiramisu is. I have some points to make, 1. it's EASY, 2. It's great that the eggs are cooked, 3. I didn't add any vanilla at all even though I was worried that since there were 6 egg yolks it will have this eggy smell, but it didn't, 4. I only used espresso and no coffee liquer (1/2 cup water and 2 tbsp of coffee), 5. I chilled the bowl that I was planning on beating the whipping cream in, make sure to get the whipping cream that looks like a milk carton in teh fridges, and not the 'whipped' cream. 6. Mascarpone cheese isn't hard to find but it's expensive $8.99., 7. Make sure to use the soft lady fingers, if you go to a large grocery store you wont' have a hard time finding them, I bought 3 10 oz packages, 8. I refrigerated the mascarpone/egg mix while I was beating the whipping cream. 9. And this might be helpful, use a cheese cake pan, chill it, and the next morning you can just pop the tiramisu out. It looked beuatiful! I decorated it with some fresh raspberries and slices of strawberries, shredded chocolate and dusted cocoa powder. Took it to work and everyone oooed and aahhhed at it. It tasted very very good!!!! Keeper! By the way, it's important you chill over night.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: LGIORGI
This is awesome! Same recipie fromback of the ladyfinger package, except they gave a wonderful substitute for the marcapone cheese, it's one 8 oz package of cream cheese, 1/4 cup sour cream and 2 tbs heavy cream, whipped together...this was the best dessert I've ever made! I brushed on really potent coffee, no alcohol, and it was a great, light, coffee and chocolate taste!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes