My Reviews (42)

Chocolate and Sour Cream Cake

This is a great and quick sweet cake combining chocolate, cinnamon and sour cream with a pecan topping. Delicious!
Reviews (42)


Comment:
31 Jul 2011
bournebug said:
I suggest that MEEMS1 read the description before cooking. Description clearly stated that this was not a traditional babka. The cake was lovely and enjoyed by all! I also added extra sour cream.
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
LReynolds99 said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This is a great recipe! I decided to add an extra 4 tbsp soured cream, and an additional 75g chocolate chips. I baked it 15 minutes longer (after covering w/foil) & it turned out moist, chocolaty & delicious. My husband loved it! I will certainly make it again & again!
 
Comment:
18 Jul 2008
Starshynez said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Just made this. Also added an extra 4 tbsp soured cream (was nervous of it being dry) and put some chocolate chips in the dough. I would suggest using icing sugar for the topping, that is what I have used in the past when I have made a real babka, and it's much easier to dust/stick along the top! Yum!
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Ewa Lamb
Everyone liked the chocolate babka. mmm...
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MEEMS1
This is not babka...it's only a chocolate cake. A true babka is fashioned from a yeast-leavened dough, rich with eggs. After rushing to the recipe, eagerly anticipating a real babka that I might make and finding only a typical quick-bread type cake, I'm a bit disappointed.
 
18 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Matt F.
I made this recipe and it was very tasty, but it takes soooo long to cool. I tried to get it out of the tin, but when I did the whole thing crumbled!! It was disappointing, but it still tasted good. I'd reccomend that you cool it for at least a few hours, before attempting to remove it.
 
10 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: MEEMS1
This is no babka...it's only a chocolate coffeecake. A true babka is fashioned from a yeast-leavened dough, rich with eggs. After rushing to the recipe, eagerly anticipating a real babka that I might make and finding only a typical quick-bread type coffeecake, I'm a bit disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Matt F.
I made this recipe and it was very tasty, but it takes soooo long to cool. I tried to get it out of the pan, but when I did the whole thing crumbled!! It was disappointing, but it still tasted good. I'd reccomend that you cool it for at least a few hours, before attempting to remove it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: LReynolds99
This is a great recipe! After reading other reviews, I decided to add an extra 1/4 cup sour cream, and an additional 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. I baked it 15 minutes longer (after covering w/foil) & it turned out moist, chocolatey & delicious. My husband loved it! I will certainly make it again & again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Starshynez
Just made this. Also added an extra 1/4 cup sour cream (was nervous of it being dry) and put some chocolate chips in the dough. I would suggest using confectioners sugar for the topping, that is what I have used in the past when I have made a real babka, and it's much easier to dust/stick along the top/eat! Yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes