My Reviews (131)

Authentic Naan Bread

You have to serve naan bread with good Indian curries! These contain yoghurt and are sprinkled with black onion seed.
Reviews (131)


Comment:
14 Jul 2008
JENNELLEN said:
Took shortcuts. This is a great recipe. Super easy and authentic tasting results! I mixed the ingredients using the dough setting on my bread machine,which also sped up the rising time. As a huge fan of Indian I will use this recipe over and over.
 
31 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Waylornz
Worth putting the time into, added some garlic to mine and they were a treat
 
30 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Rorschach
Delicious, soft and tasty naan. I've tried a few naan recipes, and this is definitely the best so far.
 
15 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: tinkerbellMEOW
I have made this and the other naan recipe on the site, and found this one to be more delicious. It is time consuming, but worth every minute!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: SFDIANA
I am from the Netherlands and a friend showed me this site. I was looking for a recipe of Naan for a long long time. This 1 is great!! Very tastfull and soft and easy to make!
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: chvickers
These turned out quite well. The addition of yoghurt to the mix gave the naans a tangy taste that other recipes don't have. I found that it was important to preheat the bbq for at least 10 minutes before attempting to cook the breads.
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: TOO TOO
i made these but shaped them in the traditional tear-drop shape. great tasting bread! thanks. will definately make them again soon
 
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: MACMOMMY
These were very authentic-tasting and easy.
 
10 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Charlene Vickers
These turned out quite well. The addition of yogurt to the mix gave the naans a tangy taste that other recipes don't have. I found that it was important to preheat the grill for at least 10 minutes before attempting to cook the breads, and not to use a silverstone-coated baking sheet (the intense heat may damage it). By the way, kalonji is known better in the West as nigella, but may also be found at German delis either as 'black caraway' or 'schwarzkummel', or in Jewish delis as 'charnushka'.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: RUTHCWTHOMPSON
My husband really thought this was great Naan but I was slightly disappointed. The texture was a bit off from what I've had in Indian restaurants and I agree with another reviewer that it just wasn't very fluffy. Next time I'd roll each one out a bit thicker. Also for those reading the recipe for the first time, Ghee is a form of butter that is near the consistancy of oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes