My Reviews (16)

Couscous and Chickpea Soup

Couscous, veges, chickpeas and eggs - a meal in a soup. Add eggs according to the number of people being served.
Reviews (16)


27 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Jodmar
yummy - hearty, delicious and satisfying. It's a vegetarians dream:
 
28 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: ChickenCat
This was really good! I added some cabbage, just because I had some. Simple and filling and delicious!
 
02 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: jade911
absolutely delicious, very easy, this is going in my weekly cycle of dinners. thank you Tania Covo
 
09 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: anabela
 
Comment:
09 Jan 2011
anabela said:
Altered ingredient amounts. This soup is surprisingly delicious... I wanted something light but did not expect so much from such a simple recipe.. I just added more tabasco as I like it hot.
 
Comment:
08 Sep 2010
leighann said:
Something else. did not have couscous, so served with some cheese bread, worked fine tasty & filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
18 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Kina
This is a great recipe! I only rated it four stars because I made some changes (but I'll try it as written next time): I didn't have fresh cilantro, so I used fresh parsley and mint instead, I added some minced garlic and canned tomatoes and it still turned out delicious. Oh, and I used ground cumin and hot Paprika because I didn't have turmeric. I will make this often, both with couscous and without. Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: I have made this soup quite often now, with varying ingredients (whatever I had on hand) and I really really love this recipe. It's very versatile and turns out delicious even if you substitute with whatever you have in your fridge/pantry/garden, just don't omit the hot sauce and the garbanzo beans. Bottom line: I changed my rating to five stars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: leighann
Filling & tasty would make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
08 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Earth Angel
I was surprised that this soup got rave reviews by my two young girls! I honestly thought it mightve been bland. I did make my own changes tho.. such as: red peppers, no tomatoes, more eggs and chicken soup base, quinoa in place of couscous, chopped spinach at the end, oh and one star anise pod in the beginning. . Seriously my kids praised this soup and had seconds. The hot sauce was added only on an individual basis, for the sake of the kids. My mom n bro came over and each had a bowl, they loved it too. I will be making this one regularly for years to come! : )
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: MJPEAR
I have made this recipe at least ten times. It is a family favorite. I usually add 4-5 eggs which helps thicken up the broth. I also use a generous amount of sriracha hot sauce. It's great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes