My Reviews (776)

Cheeseburger Meatloaf

Easy-to-prepare meatloaf, rolled and stuffed with cheese, or any number of other possible ingredients, such as sauteed onions and mushrooms.
Reviews (776)


29 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: cookingmom
I did my first loaf after reading all the reviews and my husband loves it. I'd like to suggest letting the loaf sit for 15 minutes before cutting, this will prevent oozing of the cheese. When I made it the second time, I dicovered a way to simplify the rolling process and had great success. I divided my meat mixture into 3 batches and cheese into 2 batches (like a lasagne). Fill the bottom of a 9x13 dish with the 1st batch, then sprinkle cheese on top, avoiding the edges. I then pat the 2nd batch on top, taking a little care to seal the edges with a spatula. Cheese on top of that. Finally, the 3rd batch of meat on top of that, sealing the edges again. I then sprinkled ketchup and mustard overall. It came out tasting the same as the recipe indicated, but saves much time and effort.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Amanda H
This is a great recipe! I only gave it 4 stars because I found the "jelly-roll" effect to be more trouble than it was worth. Instead, I just half the meat mixture and make a channel for the cheese down the center and then top with the remaining meat mixture. It is much more simple and it isn't as messy! Tastes fantastic as is or is easy to jazz up too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: KCHAMPOUX
Delicious! Here are a few of my suggestions - to avoid the grease problem - use super lean beef - I used 95% lean, it wasn't greasy at all... also, I used mozzarella in the middle (part-skim). It was perfect! And, for those of you watching calories/fat, it's pretty friendly, only 3 WW points per slice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: BARBARIC
We loved this, I did add some Montreal steak seasoning and worcestershire to it and topped it with barbecue sauce. I didn't have any wax paper, and parchment made it really easy to roll up. There was one spot where I didn't seal it well, so the cheese goozed out. I also baked it in a loaf pan and periodically drained the grease and let it sit for 15 minutes to ease in slicing it. Thanks Douglas, this was a winner in our house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: Kristen
I was very glad I'd read the reviews on this recipe beforehand or I might have throw up my hands at the rolling it up stage. It's tricky, but doable with some patience. I used foil instead of wax paper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: MIKEMATHIS
Very good meatloaf recipe. I added 1/4 cup of worchester sauce, and 1/2 cup bell pepper to the mix for alittle more flavor. Also I subsituted the shredded chedder with Sargentos mexican cheese blend. The guys at work LOVED it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2000
Reviewed by: BARBIE0492
I am not a meatloaf fan but this was very good. Didn't taste like meatloaf. The taste was very good. I had a hard time rolling it like a jelly roll. I will make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: AJNOLFF
Wow! Even my 5 yr old liked it. It really reminds of a MacDonalds' cheeseburger. I thought it was good and will make it again. I halved the recipe & used very lean ground beef, american cheese slices, and 1 tablespoon worchestshire.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2003
Reviewed by: I'm nuts too...
I scaled this recipe down to 2, left out the egg and it still came out good. I did have a little "oozing of the cheese" and it was a little greasy, so next time I will use sirloin & fat free cheese. I did add a little thyme & a dash of crushed rosemary to the loaf. Good change from the normal meatloaf as well as burger. Thanks Douglas!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LYNAYAL
Excellent!! Tasted exactly like a cheeseburger. Could be used for potluck. Great with barbeque sauce on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes