My Reviews (2,164)

Easy Baked Salmon

This is a great salmon recipe for beginners! Even my daughter who wouldn't dream of eating fish loved it.
Reviews (2164)


17 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: ROUVER
Excellent recipe. As recommended, made the following changes, and it turned out wonderfully: 2 T. olive oil, 1 T. melted butter, 3/4 tsp basil, 1/2 tsp salt, 3 T lemon juice, 1 tsp dried parsley, dash of dill weed. Instead of wrapping fillets individually, I just put the foil on top of the baking dish. I also skin fish before marinading (CRUCIAL for lessening fishy taste). Overall VERY easy. I make it with rice & serve the remaining marinade to drizzle on rice & fish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: GAYLAF
I would like to give this one at least 6 stars. It was very good. I did decrease the olive oil to 1 (one) tablespoon and decreased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon and I can not imagine it tasting any better. I marinated it in a plastic bag and kind of massaged the oil mixture into the salmon and then left it for an hour. I may decrease the pepper a wee bit next time. For you fellow Weight Watchers I calculated the points for a 6 ounce fillet to be 8.5. ***That is the points using 1 tblsp. of oil for the 2 fillets. Enjoy! Thanks Norma.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: A277387
We were trying to get into the habit of eating fish for dinner once a week. We printed out several fish recipes - this happened to be the first one we tried. We never got around to trying the others. This has become a staple in our weekly menu. We don't use fillets, we use boneless salmon steaks instead (you'll need to bake for the full 45 mins. if you do too). I add two slices of lemon atop each salmon steak prior to closing up the packets. Since we prefer to serve this over white rice (sounds odd but is delicious) we omit the parsley so that we're left with a bit of sauce after it's done baking which we then pour over and toss the rice in. We place the rice on a plate, the salmon on top and serve with steamed broccoli all around. Once a week every week and it's never gotten old. I still look forward to it every week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: RedRobynNAU
Oh my gosh! I NEVER liked salmon before - but this was SO good!! I doubled the garlic, halved the olive oil, and used 1 tsp dried parsley. I was worried there wouldn't be enough juice, but after cooking the salmon for 45 minutes, there was plenty of yummy juice! It was a tad salty (and I love salty food!), so I might decrease the salt to 3/4 tsp next time. I will definitely make this over and over again - I'm proud of myself for actually loving a salmon dish! (UPDATE: I have started using this same method for chicken breasts, and they come out amazing too!! I love to serve it over brown rice...the juice gives the rice a nice flavor.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Shara in Pdx
Excellent recipe. As recommended, made the following changes, and it turned out wonderfully: 2 T. olive oil, 1 T. melted butter, 3/4 tsp basil, OMITTED the salt, 3 T lemon juice, 1 tsp dried parsley, dash of dill weed. Instead of wrapping fillets individually, I just put the foil on top of the baking dish. I also skin fish before marinading (CRUCIAL for lessening fishy taste). Overall VERY easy. I make it with rice & serve the remaining marinade to drizzle on rice & fish. I will be making this to serve again for a group of 52 people.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Famouscook
Really easy to make! A few notes: 1) There was way too much oil!! The fish was swimming in it! Use only 2 tablespoons and reduce the lemon accordingly if desired. 2) I used pressed grapeseed oil instead of olive oil and it was very light and added a buttery undertone that was nice. 3) I added 1/2 teaspoon of dill and was very glad I did. Next time I will add a full teaspoon. 4) I used half the salt and it was enough. 5) I marinated it only 1/2 an hour and it was plenty. You want to be able to taste the salmon! 6) I used 3 (8 ounce) fillets and baked in a small casserole dish with foil over the top, and a light coating of butter and lemon juice on the bottom. There was still enough marinate for the extra fillet. It worked very well except the marinate mix was about 1/2 inch deep after 20 minutes in the oven, hence the comment about too much oil. Overall an easy, low-mess marinate that I will make again with less oil.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: MARSHAKA
This is a fantastic marinade that really brings out the flavors of the salmon! I do not use the tinfoil method as that tends to take too much time. Instead, I put the salmon in a glass dish, pour this fabulous marinade over the top and broil it. I've found that about 5-7 minutes on either side gets it done.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: BBFITZ
I read all the great reviews on this recipe so I just had to try it, and boy am I glad I did. It was sooo good!!! All the other salmon recipes that I have are now history, as this is delicious and easy. I only used 2 tbl. olive oil, 1/2 tsp. each of salt and pepper, and increased lemon juice to 3 tbl. I marinated the salmon for about 3 hours. I had to cut the cooking time down to 25 min. as it was done when I first checked it. Thanks Norma for a wonderful recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: MDFILL
We loved this recipe! I used the exact ingredients listed, only I tripled the recipe and marinated for 24 and 48 hours. I thought the fish was even better after 48 hours. Also, 35 minutes was plenty for 3 fillets.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: naples34102
The marinade was just perfect as written...no need to change ingredients or measurements. If you like your fish steamed rather than baked, this cooking method will work fine. I would have much preferred this simply baked, and maybe finished off by broiling for a few minutes at the end. This steaming method just did not appeal to me or my husband..almost too moist and definitely needing some richness and color that baking/broiling would have created. Will try again but open roasted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes