My Reviews (17)

Summer Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Whole strawberries and sliced rhubarb make a delicious filling for a classic pie with a woven lattice crust. Make your own pastry, or buy premade crusts. A sprinkle of cinnamon sugar adds just the right touch.
Reviews (17)


25 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: sharridee
This ia almost the same as the one I've been making for years except I put everything in a large sauce pan on top of the stove and cook everything until it thickened up and I can taste it to be sure its right, I have found over the years that the flavor depends on the the berries and rhubarb being used, sometimes they are not as sweet as other times.There is nothing more up setting than having used all the ingredients and having your pie come out too tart or too sweet. Anyway I let my mixture cool abit then put a lattice top on and bake. I do this with all my fruit pies, and it works everytime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Karen
Loved it!!!!! Wouldn't change a thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Jacquelyn Young
I am a rookie baker and this pie turned out really great! I over did the nutmeg a bit since I didn't pre-measure it (just grated it in the bowl). I followed the advice of one review and combined all the ingredients in a sauce pan over medium heat first to taste and after it cooled I added it to the crust. Also, I brushed a beaten egg and water mix over the top crust before putting it in the oven to assist in getting a golden crust. I was unsure about the whole berries but it worked really well! Overall a very nice recipe and so easy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: britpip
This pie came out perfectly! The sweetness is just right, though I did skimp on the sugar by about 1/4 cup. Highly recommended.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2011
Reviewed by: Susan Keiper
boo hiss, too wet
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Melly1_1998
This recipe was REALLY yummy, but the filling was too much for the pan. It was also very liquid and took extra long to bake. I recommend using 1.5 cups of diced rhubarb with 2 cups hulled strawberries and 1/2 cup flour in the filling. On a side note... I found the "ready to use" frozen doughNfoil sets to be very dry. I recommend making the dough from scratch. You can get a basic dough mix in the cake section of the supermarket and then kneading it by hand. Makes it REALLY special!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: xxmetoo
I've eaten and made this many times. It always turns out great ang gets a lot of good feed back. So easy to make and so nice for a summer dessert.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2018
Reviewed by: Tracy
I love making this pie... I just can't get enough it's. It's one of my favorite holiday or summer treats to make..ummhh ummhhh.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: grayeyeskb
Made it just as written. Way too wet. Taste okay, but I think if I make it again I'll use corn starch or tapioca to thicken it. Disappointing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Penny Slater
Excellent! Increased strawberries by a half cup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes