My Reviews (275)

Garlic Roast Potatoes and Asparagus

This garlicky potato and asparagus dish is easy and delicious served either hot or cold. Rosemary and thyme add even more flavour. Try adding chopped red pepper!
Reviews (275)


20 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: WRF1973
I was skeptical at the huge amount of rosemary and thyme, but I always follow recipes to the T when I first try them. After eating what we could of this, my girlfriend and I felt like we had eaten a bowl of rosemary and parsley. It was barely palatable. I almost wonder if it's a misprint - perhaps 1/4-tsp. of each (instead of FOUR) would be better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: CODESBRIDE
I always follow the recipe exactly the 1st time. Until now... I didn't have any thyme so I omitted that. I poured 2 tbs. oil in the glass dish, added potatoes, garlic and red bell pepper and cooked covered for 30 mins. Then I added the asparagus and cooked covered for 5 mins. & uncovered for 5 more. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: MojoCook
Wonderful! I followed other suggestions and cooked potatoes at 425 for 30 min covered, then 5 covered with asparagus and 5 more uncovered. The asparagus turned out perfectly. I also added raw onions to the potatoes, and everything turned out great! This will definitely be my go-to roasted potato recipe. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: susan
these are very tasty! make sure to not add the asparagus until the last 5-10 mins, otherwise it will definitely be overdone. i also sometimes add peppers, onions, or whatever veggies you like!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Sheri Wilson
Please make sure you like the taste of rosemary before trying this recipe as written. I like the herb in small amounts but I found the rosemary overwhelming in this dish, and ended up throwing most of it away. I'm still giving it 2 stars for the basic concept. I'm sure I would have liked this much better with different seasonings.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This was a very easy and flavorful recipe. The only thing I changed was cutting the herbs in half, and using 1/4 tsp of salt total. It would have been way too herby and salty as written. Great compliment to chicken and green salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: MOLLE888
So simple and so delicious. I did have to extend the cooking time... the potatoes just wouldn't cook through. I ended up overcooking the asparagus a tad. Next time I will chop the potatoes into smaller pieces.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2005
Reviewed by: GRAMMABEA
Great combination. Potatoes were good but the asparagus was over cooked. 10 - 15 minutes total cooking time for the asparagus is probably long enough. Also would leave the asparagus spears whole next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 May 2006
Reviewed by: dEdE
I love herbs so I followed the recipe, even after I read the comments to scant on them. It was kinda like chewing on twigs by the end of the meal. It would have been just as flavorful with about half the amount I think. Also, by the time my taters were done my asparagus was over-cooked. May need to change cooking times to fix this...I'll try again though...definitely has potential!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 May 2011
Reviewed by: JeannineYousif
I followed the suggestions from other reviewers. I added 1 red bell pepper (chopped) to the recipe. I tossed the potatoes, pepper, EVOO, herbs, salt and pepper together in a baking dish - cooked for 30 minutes covered; then added the asparagus - cooked covered for 5 min then uncovered for 5 minutes. Turned out beautifully! Great taste and received lots of compliments from my dinner guests. Easy recipe and will definitely be making it again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes