My Reviews (278)

Spicy Chicken Drumsticks

This is just like spicy chicken wings, only less work. A super easy slow cooker recipe and oh so yummy! For crispier chicken, bake in a 200 degrees C oven for the final 30 minutes.
Reviews (278)


07 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: alexasmom97
I was hesitant about making this in the crockpot since my family doesn't like meat done this way. I liked the idea of baking it the last 30 mins. so I gave it a try. We were all pleasantly surprised. I had 16 chicken legs and two crockpots so I put half in each. I did one recipe exactly as listed. Very very very yummy!!! The other I used one of the variations from the reviews and instead of the hot sauce, I used some chicken broth. I also added sliced onions and two cans of mushrooms because my kids don't like spicy foods. This also turned out wonderful! I served both varieties with cooked rice. I poured the juices over the rice. We loved it. This is my favorite recipe from this site. I'll use it again and again. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Leslie Moore Day
These were so good! I used Texas Pete hot sauce, cooked in crock for 2 1/2 hrs., placed on a cookie sheet, splashed on more Texas Pete, and baked in the over for the last 1/2 hr. of cooking time. They were perfect. I normally remove skin from chicken, but I left it on this time. My husband, who hates chicken skin, didn't even notice because the outside was so nice and crisp. Everyone in my family wanted more, and they all asked me to make them again soon. Not only were these very good, but they are super easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: 1cooknsista
This is good recipe! I'm not a big fan of dark meat but a friend bought a huge package of chicken legs and I needed a good recipe so I made these for Christmas dinner to accompany the main dish. I must admit I changed it a little only because I wanted crispier texture but juicy so I rubbed the legs in olive oil, seasoned, and let them marinate in refridgerator overnite. I used a package of 13 legs so I had to adjust seasoning to the amount of chicken. I baked them on 350 for almost an hour without foil. Placing butter pieces on each leg during this hour. I took them out the oven and covered well with the hot sauce. I baked them at least another half hour. I served them with Bob's blue cheese dressing also from this site with fresh cut celery. My family loved it! Thank you. Note: I used seasoning salt instead of iodized, or kosher and fresh black pepper. Did not measure, just covered well. None of the other ingrediants were changed. Be careful with your seasoning salt because the hot sauce with provide additional salt. Thanks again, it was definitely a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Sherri
I actually read through all one hundred seventeen reviews before making this one, and I was more confused than when I began. I almost was just going to cook them in the oven instead of the crock pot, but went ahead and put 12 legs with the skin on in my large crock-pot after rubbing them with pepper, cayenne, paprika, onion and garlic powder mixed with some light butter spread. They pretty much fit on the bottom, and I used Franks hot sauce because that is "OUR" hot sauce. I just covered the top of the chicken. Only cooked on high for 2.5 hours and then removed and cooked them in the oven at 400 for thirty minutes, then put them back in the juice in the crock until we were ready to eat them, leaving it on warm. They were actually very good. I do think the crock pot is needed to lock in the juice, and the oven to seal the deal. I made the Absolutely Best Rich and Creamy Blue Cheese dressing on AR for dipping.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: Lisa Villont
Not just like Buffalo Wings, but still quite tasty. My crockpot book suggests sauteeing chicken with the skin on in a few T's oil before putting into the crock-pot. Do this if you think you may eat the skin. If not, don't bother, its just extra work.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Terri Frank Ramseyer
Good recipe! I Highly recommend putting it in the oven to make it crispier. It looks awfully pale without browning. It might also work to brown before placing in the crockpot.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: lcaldwell
This just tasted like chicken with hot sauce. I'll do it again, but not in the crockpot. The crockpot made it accumalate too much juice and I just had to reseason the chicken and put it in the oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: KINGHOUSE
This is SO Yummy! This was an immediate and enthusiastic winner with my 3 teens and husband!! I followed the recipe except I used a combination of legs and thighs, added a couple of dashes of Liquid Smoke, and used less butter - only 1 T. I removed all the skin from the chicken - it was very moist and the flavor was awesome. I did place in 400 oven for 30 minutes after the Crockpot. I served it with hot cooked buckwheat and we spooned the excess sauce over the chicken and the grain -- rice or any other grain would work just as well. I will definitely make this again as it was a real family pleaser.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: mcmg
I actually joined this site JUST to review this recipe. It's getting five stars for one reason: it is the FIRST meal I have ever cooked that got such enthusiastic thumbs up from not one (that's easy!) but both kids. And my husband loves everything I cook, so his opinion doesn't even go toward this rating, although that would just cement the five.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: RACHEL1070
Yumy yumy yumy--I got love in my tummy. Made exactly as is. I like the idea of NOT browining prior to putting in the crock pot. I thought the idea of this recipe was to have "hot wings" with out all the calories----and it delivers. I used only 7 chicken legs and Smart Balance butter. This would be great to take to a potluck. Thanks for the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes