My Reviews (30)

Lahmahjoon (Armenian 'Pizza')

These savory pizzas have a tasty tomato and lamb topping. Served hot or cold, these may be an entree, or put a little salad in the middle, and fold up like a taco for a quick meal.
Reviews (30)


15 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Lauraloves2run
Coming from an Armenian family, I grew up on Lahmahjoon. Making this on a tortilla is definitely easier, but it tastes more authentic on flat bread, (which is much more time consuming.) I moved from CA to UT and can't find ground lamb anywhere here. I made this recipe with beef and it still tasted good, but I prefer the lamb. I didn't follow the recipe exactly, but I felt the mixture of spices was pretty accurate. By the way: I love rolling Lahmahjoon up with lettuce and tomatoe in the middle. It makes a great sandwich.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: YELLEPHANT
I planned an “Armenian Feast” for my husband whose family is Armenian. Not only was this recipe simple and easy, it was absolutely delicious. My grocery store doesn’t carry ground lamb, so I bought a pair of lamb chops, cut them up, and pulsed the meat in a food processor for a couple seconds. It worked wonderfully. I used the bones to make a stock for the “Armenian Lentils” recipe also found on this site. I debated on making some flatbread from scratch, but opted instead for whole wheat tortillas. The tortillas were on the small side, so it worked best when we just folded them over like a taco as opposed to stacking them and slicing like a pizza. The hubby was very impressed; and my children, ages 7, 3, and 2 asked if I would make this for dinner every night. That’s a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Suzanne
I have never had this on either pita or a tortilla before. My great grandmother always made it on an extremely flat bread she made from scratch- it was like a soft cracker, similar to boraghatz (spelling?). She also used the ground lamb sparingly, so it was less condensed and more smattered in the sauce. I am still searching for the cracker-bread recipie, though, and will update if I find it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Kendall Gray
Terrific, just terrific. My wife is somewhat finicky, and she ended up eating two of the four made. I followed this straight through. I might up the garlic next time, but... Well... If I were still cooking professionally, this would be a menu item- appetizer and meal version with a light salad. And I guarantee it would sell. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: FANTASKMANJAR
This recipe is realy fabulous with the additions I've made which gives it, I believe a more authentic flavor. Used more chopped peppers (red and green), cause I had them & needed to use them up. Instead of the parsley, used 1 full bunch of cilantro finely chopped. Added more cumin (3/4-1 tablespoon), 2 tablespoons of mint. 1 lb pizza dough, cut in 4 equal pieces (used more dough, cause makes more then 4 Lahmahjoon). Sauted the onions with peppers until golden, then added the garlic (oh yeah, 1-2 T). Once vegies were cooked to release their flavor, added the pre-cooked ground lamb. Please add salt and pepper to taste, without it, it will be blah. brush olive oil lightly over the doug. Spread the meat thinly over each pizza. Once baked, sprinkle some lemon juice over the top. Yummy in our tummies is what my family experienced. My husband is Armenian and he couldn't stop eating it & remarked on how close it is to an Armenian store which we've bought these from located in Watertown, MA.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Samitestar
Tasty and easy! I combined this with a couple of other recipes for Lahmahjoon adding chopped shallots in place of the bell pepper, toasted pine nuts and most important of all, 1/8 tsp of ground allspice. The smell when these were cooking reminded me of my favorite Jordanian restaurant in Tucson, divine. We rolled these up with chopped parsley, cukes, tomatoes and a hefty dollop of baba ghanouj (recipe on this site!). Thanks for the excellent and economical meal!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2008
Reviewed by: Linda
I had been craving this for awhile and decided to make it since we have moved far away from our usual Turkish restaurant that serves it....the ground lamb I bought didn't seem to be ground enough so next time I'll process it further so the end result is more like a paste and not too chunky. I think my husband is still yearning our regular restaurant style Lahmahjoon so I found it hard to make a good rival for it at home unfortunately. Can't blame a girl for trying!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: merlion
It actually tasted like the chimichanga meat, which I was a little disappointed in. I had expected something different...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: Bcakes
I decided to try this recipe after it was featured on the front of allrecipes. I can't recall if I have ever tried Lamahjoon before, but the recipe looked easy and quick to make. As suggested by the recipe, I made the filling the day before to let the flavors blend, and I think this does make a difference. I used ground beef instead of ground lamb, because im not a fan of lamb. I also used dried mint leaves crushed, it was what I had. And used yellow bell pepper instead, but i think it gave it a nice sweetness. This came out pretty good and I liked how the pita was pefectly crispy, sadly it`s not great to bring as a lunch to work. The pita gets a bit mushy. My fiancee liked it and I think i'll be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: pomplemousse
I loved this! So delicious. Had to sub turkey for the lamb, and I accidently used tomato sauce instead of paste. Still, it turned out excellent. Bf's only complaint was that the bread was too crispy--wanted it softer. I may have contributed to that, though, bc I used Indian Chapati Bread that I had made from a recipe, and I made the bread small. So maybe less time in the oven or just heat separately, and bf will be happy. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes