My Reviews (83)

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

Try this delicious lamb meatball with spicy and sweet tomato sauce recipe for a flavourful dish that takes the traditional lamb meatballs in tomato sauce to a whole new level! Serve with spaghetti, risoni or mashed potato.
Reviews (83)


29 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: RobBroad4th
This just became my favorite recipe on the site. I'm a new cook and a big fan of Chef John's recipes. If you're looking for something different, this is truly outstanding. Check out his video for this recipe on Foodwishes.com which really helped me through it. I couldn't find any coriander so I minced some cilantro for the meatballs. It is a bit time consuming but WELL WORTH IT.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Carla
I never use a recipe when it has only 1 review, but I had ground lamb and some eggplants and 2 hungry boys. So I gave it a shot. I have to say that I forgot to add the yogurt, and the garlic even though I had both. Everyone in my family liked this one, even the kids who don't like eggplants, and even asked for it for lunch the next day. I thought it would take longer to make than it actually did, but to speed up the process for next time, I'll make the meatballs ahead of time and put them in the freezer for a quick meal. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Tracey Ferrari Posner
I am in the last stages of making this dish and my husband is going CRAZY! The smell that is filling our house is incredible! He's been over here sneeking bites and "hangin' around" while I am trying to get this thing done and on the table! He can hardly wait! I decided to take a bite of one of the meatballs and OMG! I am transported back to the time I lived in Turkey. I am THRILLED because THIS captures the taste of our Adana kebab that I loved so much! I have said this before and I'll say it again...Chef John is THE MAN!! Well done, Sir!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Wendy
We really liked the taste. Nice flavor. Next time I will add more marinara sauce and broth. Unless I did something wrong, I had a lot of meatballs and not much sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: TARAB1
This was pretty good....took an awful lot of time to make and I liked it, just didn't love it for the amount of time it took me to make. I made exactly as written and thought it would have been better if the sauce was a bit thicker. Maybe if I make again I will try adding more marinara sauce and less chicken broth.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: MARIE20
This recipe was a great way to use up the eggplant from my garden! I loved the method of browning the meatballs in the oven. They were browned like the would be in a pan but I didn't have to fuss with them. The only thing I changed was that I used beef hamburger instead of lamb. (It was what I had in the freezer.) It is a great recipe it will be using again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Prissz
Wow, Chef John, you are my new HERO. Dinner tonight was probably one of my best and I am a woman that LOVES to cook. I didn't make it too spicy, but everything else I did as written. I paired it with your perfect mashed potato recipe, wonderful by the way, and some grilled sweet peppers tossed with olive oil and butter pecan infused balsamic vinegar. All three of my kids have had seconds. I quadrupled the recipe making 1/2 of it now and freezing the meat mixture for another time. WOW, can't wait to try more of your recipes. You're AWESOME :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: ConkyJoe
Wanted to offer adventuresome guests an alternative from standard meatballs and sauce, and these lamb meatballs did the trick. The slightly spicy eggplant tomato sauce exceptionally distinguishes this dish from a traditional marinara sauce. A side shaker of grated Pecorino Romano cheese added another level of outstanding flavor to those choosing to use it. The quantity of sauce seemed well proportioned given that we didn’t serve this over pasta or rice. Several people requested the recipe, and Chef John adds another cleverly inventive recipe to his already large collection.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: James-Jones
Wow this was fabulous. I loved the rich, fragrant sauce and the meatballs were perfectly flavored. Because I find lamb a little greasy, I mixed half ground lamb, half ground beef together. I also cut the salt by 1/3 and did not miss it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: stephaniebarrows
This was excellent! I had to substitute something for the eggplant (because I didn't have one and couldn't get out to the store..) so I diced up a couple of yellow squash and it was fantastic. I can only imagine how good this would have been with eggplant will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes