My Reviews (9)

Broccoli with Garlic and Roasted Capsicum

This broccoli, garlic and roasted red capsicum side dish pairs beautifully with roast pork. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese to serve.
Reviews (9)


18 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
My first taste of broccoli rabe was in an excellent Italian restaurant – and I hated it. So bitter and fibrous! Thinking it was a fluke, I tried it again, preparing it myself - and still hated it. So I knew I wouldn’t like the broccoli rabe in this recipe, but I also knew I’d love the recipe itself prepared with broccolini as an alternative. It was wonderful. Hubs and I both enjoyed it. Festive with its bright green and red colors, it was perfect for a Christmas season meal. I served it with a beautiful prime rib roast that Hubs prepared along with “Shiitake Scallopine,” recipe also from this site.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: ChristinaB
Great combo! Loved the tangy lemon juice and the sweet roasted red peppers - they played off each other perfectly! Maybe next time I'll add a little red pepper flake to give it just a kick.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Linda(LMT)
Easy to prepare. Boiling the Broccoli Rabe takes some of the "bite" out but also leaves it saturated with water. It was tender enough in 3 minutes and I squeezed out the excess water before placing it in the skillet which helped to remove some of the excess water. The leftovers are great cold. I added a little fresh olive oil, red wine vinegar and some calamata olives and had it salad style. Delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: AnneHJ
I subbed EVOO for Kerrygold grass-fed butter; tasted great. Easy, hassle-free side. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2013
Reviewed by: NickP
I am constantly looking for recipes to make in advance for lunch for the week. This one is spectacular. I put some provolone on half of a potato roll with the rabe in the middle. I enjoyed it very much over the next few days cold.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2018
Reviewed by: Teri
Very good and very simple to make. I didnt use the lemon only because I used this recipe as a pizza topping. Will make again. EDIT: served extra next day to compliment chicken francese. Added lemon, it was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: Teresa
My only notes to this recipe - I used fire roasted red peppers, used 3 gloves of garlic (not 5) and added it all the food processor (along with the lemon juice, Parmesan and evo). I also added some toasted pine nuts at the end that I had on hand. looked so festive for Christmas!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2016
Reviewed by: sandra
Very good; rave reviews from my family! Take care NOT to overcook. We're trying it again tonight as a topping on my homemade pizza I think will give it a gourmet flare!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: kac911
easy and yummy. I was concerned about too much garlic but it really mellowed, although we do like garlic. Maybe the bunches of broccoli rage my store sells are small but no way did this make 6 servings, 4 was pushing it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes