My Reviews (67)

Chargrilled Jalapeno Quesadillas

Soft tortillas filled with spicy grated Cheddar cheese and roasted jalapeno peppers and pan-fried until melted inside and golden and crispy on the outside. Slice into wedges for a starter to share or vegetarian meal.
Reviews (67)


22 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Deeli
Have been making quesadillas with these fillings for quite awhile but I LOVE your idea of buttering the grill sides of the tortillas and adding crushed tortilla chips! Am giving this recipe a four star but only because it's much more complicated than need be. You can simply place all the internal ingredients on one entire tortilla, top with the other tortilla (butter side up) then when time to turn just slide on to the plate you already planned to slice the quesadillas on, turn the skillet upside down over the plate and flip the plate and pan over to slide it back in the skillet and continue cooking the other side. Oh, and using sliced jalapenos from a jar saves the step of broiling the fresh jalapenos should you like to choose ;-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: missrochester
I love the Concept of this recipe! But as written it just didnt work for me.I made these again today for my husband at lunch time and he LOVED them with some alterations!! First off I Doubled EVERYTHING!I made one for myself An even added some leftover thinly sliced chicken breast Absolutely TO DIE FOR!! With my changes a definite 5 STAR recipe!!! I didnt even have a chance to take a picture he ate them that fast..lol
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Thisni Caza
These were just okay for me, although I love the idea. I doubled all of the other ingredients but used three tortillas. Even then I felt that the cream cheese was barely enough to cover. I might try again with some modifications. I think I expected ooey-gooey and you just don't get that with one tablespoon cream cheese and one-fourth cup shredded cheese on one ten-inch tortilla.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Teralyn
Add some chopped bacon and they are perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Lesa
This was delicious. I used two whole tortillas stacked on top of each other and cooked it on a baking sheet at 425 for about 7 minutes per side and it was perfectly browned and melty. Added salsa and sliced avocado on top - the whole roasted jalapenos are quite spicy with the membranes and seeds left in, but so worth the extra effort of roasting and peeling. Had leftover wedge the next morning with a fried egg on top and more salsa. I almost think I prefer the breakfast version!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: mark3562
This is a excellent appetizer instead of roasting peppers I suate them with some sweet chopped onion , a little easier for me ... Giant
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Big Al
I made these and they were great. All I had was a jar of hot pickled jalapeño peppers that I diced and didn't have any tortilla chips. I also used whole wheat tortillas. I will make these over and over. Super simple!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Sep 2017
I absolutely loved these and so did my husband, we have found that as you age you lose some of your taste buds and spicier foods are often a welcome treat. These aren't too spicy that they burn the roof of your mouth, just right! After making the first small recipe to sample and after reading the reviews, next time I make them I will broil a big batch of jalapeno peppers, skin them and dry freeze till needed for appitisers especially for outdoor dinner parties. I loved the idea that someone offered about using these for breakfast with an egg or two, all the more reason to freeze dry a big batch of jalapeño peppers and just grab a handful as needed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Helen
Made these as an appetizer tonight for a clam bake. Made the recipe for 10. Cooked them on my le creuset grill pan. Learned a few things: I started with whole wheat tortilla and a non stick pan, but it didn't work well. Switched to flour tortilla and the grill pan and it worked brilliantly. Because of the size of my grill pan, Deeli's suggestion of using two stacked tortillas instead of one folded one did not work quite as well. I split the jalapenos and scraped out the seeds and membrane with my fingertip. I had a little eczema or something between a couple of my fingers on both hands. And then they started burning.... burning.... burning..... I tried a few tricks and they worked - in this order: washed hands with oil-dissolving dish detergent - that didn't work too well, then I did a thick paste of water and baking soda which I left on to let dry - may be a bit better. Then I rubbed a tablespoon of olive oil between my fingers for about 3 minutes - this really seemed to do the trick. I know, it was stupid - next time, I'm heeding the warning and wearing gloves. This is a great recipe easily tailored to individual tastes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Dorothy Roberts
I made this last night with just a couple changes, I left out the chips and added finely diced bacon bits!!! Everyone loved them, I also used Pam cooking spray instead of butter! They tasted awesome
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes