My Reviews (103)

Healthier Banana Banana Bread

Moist and packed with banana flavour, the healthier version of this popular banana bread recipe uses less butter and replaces it with non-fat yoghurt.
Reviews (103)


04 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Courtenay Howell
I altered the recipe after reading other reviews and it came out even healthier and still very yummy. I did half all purpose and half wheat flour. Instead of butter I used equal parts homemade apple sauce allrecipes.com/recipe/sarahs-applesauce/ (I omitted the sugar in the apple sauce recipe) I used 1/8 cup plain Greek yogurt and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup brown sugar. I only had 3 bananas which turned out to be 1 1/4 cup after mashing. I meant to add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla but forgot until just now and I threw in two palmfuls of craisins. I baked it for 55 minutes in a loaf pan and wish I had taken it out at 50 when I thought it was done. It was a touch over done but I will be making this again when I buy more bananas than we care to eat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: 4givnCyn
Very tasty. I made 1/2 the recipe with two medium size bananas, and baked muffins. Only a 6-muffin tin would fit in our little toaster oven so there was some batter left over, but I believe the 1/2 recipe would have made 8 regular size muffins.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Michele McCormick
This was really good. After 50 minutes though it was done, I add crushed walnuts and a little extra yogurt. Delicious. I like my banana bread more moist, not sure if it was me or the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: carmaa
I love this recipe, and have made it many times already! I made a few modifications based off the other reviews in order to make it even healthier. For the 2 cups of flour, I use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all-purpose flour. In place of 1/4 cup butter, I use 1/4 cup applesauce. I also reduce the sugar to 1/4-1/2 cup, depending on how sweet I want it. And I add in a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. I also use two 8x4 inch pans (since that's what I have), and it reduces the baking time to ~35 minutes. Very delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Julie Russell
Using this recipe I made an even lower calorie version substituting pureed pumkin for the butter/yogurt and an egg substitute for the whole eggs, and then mixed in 1/4 cup of chopped dates. It made a very dense, chewy, moist bread which is mildly sweet and surprisingly satisfying for not having any chocolate in it I'm sure it would have tasted even better w/the butter (let's face it, what doesn't taste better with butter?!).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: karin d.
I just made this last night and my very picky husband said this was the best i ever made. I made a bit of an adjustment with the flour using 1 cup white and 1 cup whole wheat, I added walnuts, a sprinkle of cinnamon, a spash of vanilla and topped it with some oats, brown sugar and butter. So not as healthy but it was very good...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: kaulene
A simple, healthy recipe that doesn't require a trip to the co-op for ingredients. i reduced the brown sugar by a 1/4 cup and used cream cheese instead of yogurt. Didn't bother measuring out the banana, simply mashed 4. Made 8 mini-loafs 4x2", baked for 18 minutes. Fluffy, moist, no-guilt, extra banana, banana bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Juli D.
I'm not much for reviews, but this warrants one. I made this recipe tonight, with a few modifications due to allergies. This recipe ROCKS. Super moist, very tasty & an entire loaf is gone! I mixed 1 cup wheat with 1 cup all purpose 6 tbsp applesauce in lieu of eggs yummy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: ~*MyHotSouthernMess*~
Made recipe pretty much as written. Only change was I used vanilla Greek yogurt. Bread was moist ( but in my husbands words not as moist as other quick breads i have made) and my husband liked it warm and cold( especially cold). I thought it needed more banana flavor but I may have had flavorless bananas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Summer
Delicious! Added fresh grated nutmeg (love the smell) and cinnamon to taste. Also a cup of toasted walnuts. Will make again. Splendid. Nice chewy texture, not dry and right amount of banana flavor. Also, for more nutrition I substituted one cup of quality whole wheat flour for white. To make mashing bananas easier, I use a potato masher. Also, I use a micro grater and buy whole nutmegs. They are easy to grate and it is such a difference in flavor and nutrition.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes