My Reviews (330)

Garlic Roasted Chicken and Potatoes

Chicken and potatoes are baked in butter with 24 cloves of garlic. Add a little maple syrup at the end for sweetness. Don't worry, the garlic cooks down to a mellow, soft texture that's simply delicious spread over the chicken! Serve with a green salad, broccoli or asparagus.
Reviews (330)


24 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: D89BUTTONS
I used drums only, as that is what I had on hand. It was so simple to throw together. I actually forgot the final step of the syrup but we loved it as it was. We are garlic lovers so this was great. Oh, I didn't have fresh cloves so I used jarred minced garlic. We didn't get to spread the garlic over the chicken but it baked into the drums and then covered the potatoes!! YUMMY!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Maranatha
This was delicious and so easy! Thanks for sharing. I'm going to add a little more detail. I had a 4 pack of chicken thighs I wanted to use, so that's what I used instead what it called for. I only had a small square brownie type pan, so I used that instead of a roasting pan. I used one whole garlic cluster, separated and peeled, about 14 cloves or so. I had to bake it 20 extra minutes to get the thermometer to 165. I don't think it needed all that garlic, not that it hurt it at all, but you really only got the garlic taste by smooshing the cloves onto the chicken at the end, and each piece used about 2 cloves. It turned out great and the potatoes were to die for! I didn't have to add any salt once to them on my plate (which is unusual for me) and they were so buttery! I will be adding this dish to my regular rotation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Cat Osbourne
Ya'll, this is totally off the hook. The only changes I made were to add two sweet potatoes and to omit the maple syrup. I would have LOVED it, but hubby has a problem with sugary-sweetness in meat dishes, but he loves sweet potatoes. It was fantabulous! I had five very picky boys in the house and the table was quiet! I know, right? That alone should speak for itself. I am putting this into my weekly rotation. The potatoes are addicting and so delicious! It was super easy to assemble, too. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Victoria
This was good. I cut the recipe in half because I only needed to feed three. I did keep the butter at 1/4 cup, because there would not have been enough to coat the pan otherwise. At the end, I took the roasted garlic out with tongs and put them through my garlic press into a bowl. I stirred it and then spread it on the chicken with a knife. I put the potatoes in the serving bowl first and put my left over garlic in the bowl and distributed it through the potatoes with a spoon then I dished up the chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: mayegrace
This is a very mild dish. I added a few carrots, an onion, and replaced the legs with tenders because we won't eat dark meat. Tenders also cook faster than bone in meat. If we make this again, I will try some sweet potatoes, a side of butternut squash and more spice for the meat. As an aside, this is naturally gluten free if you use GF spices, and so forth. I love recipes with simple, natural ingredients. This was quick to assemble, and I was able to make a batch of No Bake Cookies V while it baked. =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: jddinerman
Just wonderful, not only was the chicken excellent, the vegetables were a huge hit. I added carrots like some of the other raters here and they were great! Definitely adding to the rotation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Luc2000
This was quite good. My wife showed up with some chicken legs and gave up before her first Christmas dinner (I've been doing it 6 out of 6 years now.) Live in Japan and only have a mini oven so wasn't sure how this would turn out. No garlic cloves, so substituted for about 60 shakes of garlic powder and added some rosemary. My oven needed about 20 extra minutes to brown it. My picky kids ate it up! Thanks for the simplest recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Catwoman1011
I made this for the first time today and it was completely easy and absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly but left the chicken and potatoes in the oven for an extra 10 minutes to make sure they were done (I couldn't find my thermometer). As a vegetable, I added plain green beans and I spooned some droppings over them. Thank you for this great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Joanne Worobec
Easy and quick. Tasted great. Kids and husband couldn't get enough. Will use again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Hummingbird
Yummy. Love this recipe and it is so easy. Added carrots and used red potatoes and chicken thighs. You'll want leftovers.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes