My Reviews (39)

Spinach and Banana Smoothie

This vegan spinach and banana smoothie will supply you with a quick pick-me-up when you need it!
Reviews (39)


19 Jun 2015
Reviewed by: Dustin Jensen
I used unsweetened vanilla almond milk in place of the soy milk, but cut it down to 2/3 cup. I also froze the banana before using. I added a half scoop of vanilla protein powder as well as a couple tablespoons of almond butter. This is probably the tastiest smoothie I have ever had; I could not even taste the spinach. Thanks for a fantastic base recipe that can easily be modified according to your tastes!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Paula
Perfect smoothie to get my morning going. I did as the reviewer suggested and subbed almond milk. I always have bananas in my freezer, so I used a frozen one which made the smoothie icy cold. I'm totally off sugar, so the banana made this smoothie plenty sweet for me.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: cikanovic
I traded soy for regular milk. and added blueberries and protein powder.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: Amy Bean
Wow—this was amazing and uses ingredients I almost always have on hand. What a great way to get extra veggies in. I now make this several times a week so keep frozen strawberries and blueberries on hand...plus old bananas and bags of fresh spinach in the freezer to make the smoothies cold without adding ice. I only use 1/4-1/5 banana to add a touch of sweetness without lots of carbs. And I add 1 TB of a healthy seed mix (chia/flax/hemp) to make it extra filling and add protein, fiber and iron. I use soy milk and two big handfuls of spinach. Thanks for the basic recipe—it’s a winner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: Ribs
Strong banana flavour and quite sweet. I prefer Breakfast Banana Green Smoothie. Others have suggested to use blueberries or canned pineapple for a different flavour. I used milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: shp970
This is very tasty and a good base recipe. I had vanilla almond milk with a touch of honey so I used that. I also had a golden delicious apple to use up and used just a tsp of natural peanut butter. My banana was still a tiny bit green so the banana flavor isn't very strong. I taste NO spinach whatsoever! Every other flavor is represented subtly and it's a wonderful flavor! I was alittle worried because I just have a regular $10 blender that it wouldn't get the pieces small enough to drink but it worked fine. I can't afford a magic bullet or vitamix so I'm glad to know I can still enjoy a smoothie without it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Cos
It comes out great every time. Thanks for sharing! The first time I used unsweetened almond milk, perfect. The second time I didn't have soy milk on hand so I used two percent. You just can't go wrong with this one!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2019
Reviewed by: Dusty Trisch
Love it quick and easy. I added oatmeal and applesauce in mine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2018
Reviewed by: Stacey Red
It was a great way to get spinach into my diet. Even gave my banana loving 10 year old nephew a test he really enjoyed it! Banana was ripe frozen for about 1 hour before making. I did add about 1 tsp of honey. Super quick, easy, fresh and healthy all winners! Will try with other fruit combinations!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jul 2018
Reviewed by: Karen Pareja
I’m not a fan of soy milk so I did it with almond milk and added 2 tbsp of PB2 peanut butter chocolate powder. It came out delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes