My Reviews (1,153)

Jan's French Toast

All you need is sliced bread, eggs, milk and a few spices to make the best French toast for a quick and easy breakfast. Serve with maple syrup and fresh fruit if you need to make it a bit more special!
Reviews (1153)


10 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: bababooee
This is a great, simple recipe for french toast. If your using thicker bread or are soaking the bread for a while, I would suggest covering the griddle or pan with a lid. This will cook the inside of the bread, making it less soggy....I also prefer to use butter or margarine in the pan rather than oil, gives it more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2002
Reviewed by: ATOMICDUNEBUGGY
I enjoyed this basic french toast recipe. However, make sure the pan is completely hot before frying, because otherwise it sticks bad and you end up with a mess on your hands - like I did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Hillary
Great, classic french toast. I added all of the spices as suggested and enjoyed the taste, although I would probably use less nutmeg next time. I used the rest of a loaf of french bread that we had bought the night before, so that made it extra tastey. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and covered the pan with a lid so the middle would also cook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Momof2
YUM-O. This stuff is amazing. I have used several different kinds of breads and it all tastes amazing. My advice is to try to use a thicker bread just because the thinner stuff tends to get a little soggier. Thanks for the post.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: LIZAMANILLA
This recipie was very tasty... we ate it so fast that we all got stomach pains. But it took forever to cook. Is there a faster way... maybe we soaked the bread too much. Please respond. Thanks and it was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: FATIMA1
Excellent recipe, quick and easy. It tastes great with whole wheat bread. Definitely one of the best ones I've tried!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: LIXINDI
Took way too long to cook. I had to add another egg to get a good consistency. Tasted bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: JOFFSGIRL
this french toast is full of flavour. My husband loved it and he is not a french toast fan in the first place. This will be a Sunday morning favourite!Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: ASUTTLES
Very tasty recipe. I added a tiny bit of ground cloves to it to zest it up. Will definitely use this recipe again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: KSHLANTA
Excellant, quick and delicious. Some adjustment of ingrediants may be required for personal taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes