My Reviews (51)

Lemon Lentil Soup

This wonderful Lebanese comfort soup is a balance of lemon, salt, spices and savoury herbs. Serve it on a cold day. Can be made vegan, vegetarian or with chicken.
Reviews (51)


01 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Anna Kuznetsov
This soup is delicious but definitely a) add a couple more glasses of water b) cut the cayenne by at least half unless you can really handle spicy c) cut the flour and butter to about a quarter cup each.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Rachel
I have made this soup several times. It freezes/reheats well and is very tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2015
Reviewed by: Kim Kandel
My husband and four boys love this meal! We were just entering some vegetarian meals into our menu, after a few times making it the soup has become a huge hit in our home! It is so healthy and so flavorful and so filling! Exactly what all my growing boys need!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: jezabella1982
This recipe is GREAT, buuuut after I altered it a bit to my taste. 1st off I made this recipe last yr and the mistake at the very end ( the part with the butter and flour) is still wrong! I wish the author could edit it and fix it already. By yeah, I used 1/4 cup flour and about 4tbs of butter and that worked for me. ALSO Instead of SERVING it with lemon wedged, I juice a whole lemon and slowly add that directly to the soup and keep tasting it until it is lemony enough for me. I usually put the whole lemon in and it is perfect. And I also find a lot of the water to evaporate, turning the soup into a stew consistency. I had veggie broth on hand ( thank god) so I put about one cup in and it was perfect. Also I cut down on the cayenne a tad not much tho. Then I dollop a nice slab of sour cream on top and call it a day !
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2015
Reviewed by: Andrew J Lewandowski
So, overall, this is delicious. It's really hearty and rich and filling and also completely healthy. I like some heat, so I added a little more cayenne than recommended and also a tablespoon or so of sambal olek (chili paste.) However, posters saying that it's very thick (it's much more stewlike) and that the flour-to-butter measurement is off are correct. Essentially you're making a roux to go into the soup, and with a roux you generally want a 1:1 flour-butter ratio. I did about a half cup of butter and a half cup of flour and it worked out great, and came out a bit more soupy than the original recipe would have.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: msteingold
Very tasty. I made the soup according to the recipe and enjoyed it. The lentils tend to absorb liquids, so I did have to add water every now and then.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Aspen
The soup is very healthy and filling. I guess the flavor wasn't as much to our liking as the Lentil Soup with Lemon by Jodi. That one is delish! This one is less expensive though and still okay. I guess after the other recipe, this one didn't quite hit it with the family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Elsie
Great soup! I added a little more water. The butter and flour mixture made it nice and creamy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: Danielle
This soup was bland (and I even added extra cumin) and I couldn't taste the lemon flavor at all. Also, there's very little color in this. Perhaps more carrots and an addition of spinach would add some color and make the soup more visually appealing. My very adventurous twin toddlers (who love foods of all kinds and flavors--chili, hummus, curries, other lentil soups, etc.) would barely touch this soup and said, "Yuck" when they looked at it (the first time they've ever said this). They instead chewed the lemon wedges. I was really hoping to love this recipe, but I will keep searching for a lebanese lentil soup we love.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: Lise Brin
Delicious! I especially like the cumin in this soup. I combined this with some leftover butternut squash soup, and it was amazing -- so you could very easily add squash to it for extra veggies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes