My Reviews (51)

Lemon Lentil Soup

This wonderful Lebanese comfort soup is a balance of lemon, salt, spices and savoury herbs. Serve it on a cold day. Can be made vegan, vegetarian or with chicken.
Reviews (51)


27 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: BettyM
After sauteing vegetables, I sauteed all spices with garlic and 2 T. tomato paste for 2 minutes just to release aroma. For 1 pound of lentils I ended up using 8 c. chicken broth and 4 c. water which was needed to have a soup consistency. Would make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: Dellalita
Thank you for this recipe. I made it but didnt have carrots. Also, i made this with 1.5 cups water cause I was using a power pressure cooker XL and it cooked for 15 min. Came out lovely, did not add the thickener it was great without.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Kate Fisher
I made this soup last night however, I accidentally totally skipped the butter/flour step. And didn't miss it. The only change I will make next time is double the vegetables and OMIT the pepper. It was pepper overload for our taste buds. Thank you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: Myin2ition
It was very bland. I expected it to be full of flavor. I need to look for another recipe to add spices to it to make it edible. I was disappointed. It doesn't even say to use the lemons in the soup, it's more of a garnish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2015
Reviewed by: LauraLee
My Husband and I both enjoyed this soup. I liked the lemony taste. He ate his with some crushed red pepper to add more heat. I also changed the amount of butter/flour to 2 TB each. The soup was rich and creamy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: marmouche
My all time favorite lentil soup, it reminds me of the one my lebanese roommate shared back in College days (when her mom made it)! This time I also threw in some cube tomatoes, some potatoes (leftover and already boiled) and at the last minute a big handfull of chopped black kale. Delicious! The lemon really makes all the difference too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: DCooks
Great flavor, but as another reviewer mentioned the flour/butter ratio is way off. I knew it would be, however, I followed the directions. I soon saw I would have nothing but a fried dough ball if I followed this recipe, so I successfully whisked in more fat. You'll have to use at least 1/3 - 1/2 cup fat for that amount of flour (or reduce flour). Also, I used the right amount of lentils and water, but this did not come out as a soup or stew. It was so thick it was more like a lentil side dish. I usually use more like 8 cups of water, at least for lentil soups. Would definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: FujoshiFangirl
I didn't follow the proportions exactly (the more carrots the merrier!) and I added some potatoes I had lying around, but the soup turned out fantastic! Absolutely scrumptious! Also, I didn't do the optional flour/butter thing. It seemed unnecessary.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2014
Reviewed by: Joy Johnson
Delicious used brown lentils and substituted celery seed for the celery.I only used 1/2 c of flour. Served with warm pita bread and fresh sliced lemon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: staceystratford
So delicious, I've made this recipe many time but I use chicken broth, cut down on the salt to half, add 2 more cups of water (or it's really thick) and before serving I put in my immersion blender to get a soup consistency
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes