My Reviews (51)

Lemon Lentil Soup

This wonderful Lebanese comfort soup is a balance of lemon, salt, spices and savoury herbs. Serve it on a cold day. Can be made vegan, vegetarian or with chicken.
Reviews (51)


14 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: SNOWCROFT
I call shenanigans! The soup is delicious, but that step at the end where you add butter/flour is completely incorrect. This is the basis for any béchamel sauce or gravy, but a cup of flour will NOT be incorporated into 1/4c of any fat. The ratio is normally 1 T fat (butter) to 1 T flour to 1 cup liquid. When mixed this way the "paste" will not take on any more flour than about a half a cup and even then it starts separating and turning into crumbles and will not blend into the soup without creating lumps. I tried this as written, even though I knew it wouldn't work and I am right. Even with a half a cup of flour, I had to add 2 cups of water, take it off the stove, use a stick blender to smooth the lumps, and then added maybe 1/4 of that into the soup. If you want to add this step, and it does add a lusciousness that elevates it from the standard lentil soup, I suggest 2 T butter and 2 T flour. If you toast the flour in the pan over medium heat while stirring before adding the butter, you'll cut down on time and have a better product. But again, the soup itself is really tasty and has the perfect amount of spice. I used both french and brown lentils and added a half cup of chives and extra parsley since I'll soon lose my fresh herbs to frost.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: elisa
This soup is absolutely exquisite!!! I made it for my family last night and not a single drop was left in the pot. It is hearty and very very rich!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Shari
This is delicious, but definitely not a soup. I followed the directions exactly , using dried lentils, and after cooking for 1 hour, all the liquid had been absorbed. It makes a great side dish if you substitute chicken broth fir the water. I also did not use the butter and flour at the end, for obvious reasons.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Debra Fox Sullivan
Ive made this recipe for ten years. There are no shenanigans! (: i did, however, make a mistake on the flour. There should be a bit less, and there needs to be a bit more liquid than i wrote. Chicken stock is my fav, but reduce your salt if you use it! Thanks everyone!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Linda Schumann
Nice flavors. I used 4 cups chicken-vegetable broth in place of some of the water. I also skipped the optional flour and butter but mixed in a couple generous dollops of non-fat greek yogurt for each serving.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Carrie
I cut the cayenne in half and was very glad I did. You could actually cut it even further. I also added an extra cup or so of water and ran it through the ninja blender because I like my lentil soup that way. Other than that, 100% perfect as written. I did not use the optional butter and flour. This is a very flavorful, satisfying soup that just happens to be both very healthy and vegan. This is going right into the frequently used recipes file.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2015
Reviewed by: Anastasia, Greece
It was very bland.It was very bland, sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Nov 2014
Reviewed by: SOFTCHELL
I made this as written with the exception of using less flour/butter as many others suggested. Great combination of flavors. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: Ebbergine
I made this mostly to the recipe, except that I used less than 1 cup of flour after reading other reviews. I used about a quarter cup and toasted it in a dry pan as another review recommended, then added in about 2.5 T of butter to make a thin paste. It added a layer of richness to the flavor. We had it for shabbat with challah and wine and it was very flavorful and satisfying. The French lentils hold their shape nicely and make an attractive thick soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: JoFred
I've been looking for a lentil soup recipe to mimic my mother-in-law's. This is it--the spice in this is perfect. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes